Do you guys use sound check?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by 55test55, Jun 25, 2009.

  1. 55test55 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
  2. Acronym macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    #2
    its good if you have songs that are louder/quiter then others cause then it will auto adjust the volume to be at what you set it at (i believe)
     
  3. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #3
    I'd like to if it worked better. It lowers the volume too much on half of my songs.
     
  4. David G. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Location:
    Alaska
    #4
    No

    I have never ever used it and I don't see a reason too do so with what I listen to.:cool:
     
  5. jc1350 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2008
    #5
    Agreed. I have to turn up the volume to hear almost half the songs - that pretty much defeats the purpose.
     
  6. billchase2 macrumors 68000

    billchase2

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Location:
    Ann Arbor
    #6
    I've never really tried it. If a song is softer/louder, I just change the volume for the track via iTunes and save it. That typically does the trick.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Phatzer macrumors regular

    Phatzer

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    #7
    Yes, but sometimes I find that when you skip a track, the volume jumps right up loud for a split second, which is pretty annoying.
     
  8. jbennardo macrumors 6502a

    jbennardo

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    #8
    I do that as well... some of my older rips came in at a very low volume so I have to adjust. And I turn sound check off too.
     
  9. Mr. Giver '94 macrumors 68000

    Mr. Giver '94

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Location:
    London
    #9
    I'm so glad I'm not the only one experiencing that!

    I thought I was going crazy. :D
     
  10. fishkorp macrumors 68020

    fishkorp

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    #10
    I use iVolume, and in order for that to work you need to turn on Sound Check, so yes, I have Sound Check enabled. iTunes alone managing the volume of songs is pretty weak. iVolume on the other hand does a great job.
     
  11. synagence macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    #11
    I used AACGain or MP3Gain to process all my tracks to a set dB level.
    It's a lossless and reversible process but only works well on windows (so u can always use W7 RC and virtualbox to process)
     
  12. Etnies419 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2008
    #12
    I used to, but I have a few songs that start off soft and get louder. The next song that plays after that seems to play at the volume that the song started out at.
     
  13. room237 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Location:
    Queens, NYC
    #13
    I've always had it on, but it's never worked right for me. Some albums are still very low volume. It hardly makes a difference. I have had more success raising the volume of the album or song thru the track info in iTunes.
     
  14. DavidFL macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2008
    #14
    Thank you! I had never heard of iVolume until now, and always felt that sound check did a pretty bad job. I'm running iVolume now!!! Thanks for the tip!
     

Share This Page