Do you have Flash on your iMac ?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by Totally Bored, Sep 5, 2015.

  1. Totally Bored macrumors member

    Totally Bored

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    #1
    Adobe Flash.

    Wanted to watch Netflix the other night but it says I need Flash. Always heard It was bad to do but I have no idea. My new IMac runs perfect and I don't want to screw it up.
     
  2. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #2
    Simple...
    Use Google Chrome for your Netflix.
    It comes with Flashplayer built in, no need to install it on your Mac.
     
  3. Totally Bored thread starter macrumors member

    Totally Bored

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    #3

    Well that works Thanks !!!
     
  4. MandiMac macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #4
    To answer your question: No, I don't. Slows the machine down, unneccessary attack vector, needs resources.
     
  5. redheeler macrumors 603

    redheeler

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2014
    #5
    That's odd, Safari encrypted HTML5 playback has worked fine for me on Netflix. Also, don't you mean Silverlight?

    To answer the title question:
    No, I don't have Flash installed in my main browser. I use Google Chrome or even another Mac for Flash, on the rare occasion I need it.
     
  6. matreya macrumors 65816

    matreya

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    #6
    I still use Flash installed as a plugin used by Safari and Firefox, but I also use uBlock to block annoying ads (most of the ones that annoy me are the flash ones)
     

Share This Page