Do you have to have an exchange account with mobile me to get your work data?

Discussion in 'Apple Music, Apple Pay, iCloud, Apple Services' started by Barbs, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. Barbs macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #1
    Here is my situation:

    1) I have MS outlook at home, which is where I sync my itunes

    2) I have MS outlook at work which has all of my work contacts and calendar

    3) I have a non business account. I do not pay the extra $15 for exchange support.

    What would mobile me do for me? Would it only wirelessly synch my home outlook only? and not my work?
     
  2. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #2
    You don't need to pay extra to sync your work email, Mobile Me has nothing to do with that.
     
  3. Barbs thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #3
    so mobile me will synch mywork MS outlook without me having to pay for the $15 a month business upgrade?
     
  4. TuffLuffJimmy macrumors G3

    TuffLuffJimmy

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #4
    No, mobileme has nothing to do with syncing your microsoft email, unless you're using a mobileme email address.
     
  5. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #5
    I believe the extra $15 is paid only when your company is paying the bill. If you have a personal bill then you do not pay.

    Normally your work MS Outlook is connected to MS Exchange Server (not always). The iPhone has a MS Exchange Client built in. So if ok with your company you can sync your iPhone with your work Exchange Account for Mail, Calendar and Contacts.

    MobileMe is similiar and designed for the non-Exchange User. Steve Jobs called it Exchange for the rest of us. With MobileMe you can have Personal Mail, Calendar and Contacts Synced with your iPhone. Your email address would be userid@me.com. If you already have a personal email account (like gmail or other) then normally you would have that email forwarded to your MobileMe Account.

    EDIT: Removed last sentence about MobileMe Forum. Thought I was on the iPhone Forum.
     
  6. Barbs thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #6
    I don't believe that this is correct. I would like for it to be, but it makes no sense why anyone would then need to add an enterprise data plan to an individual account and pay $15 extra per month. This is from the at&t website.

     
  7. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #7
    I recommend you search for other posts. I am positive that others have said that they can connect to MS Exchange without paying the extra $15 per month. But I assume if you want to pay the extra $15 ATT will except it.
     
  8. Barbs thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    #8
    ok thanks. I'll send at&t my extra $15 tomorrow.
     
  9. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #9
    I wanted to clarify my earlier post. This subject has been covered many times and it is clear that you do not have to pay the extra $15 just to use the MS Exchange Client. There are a lot of people that use MS Exchange Hosted Servers for totally personal use (example: interways.com). However, if you are using your iPhone for Company Business then you would techniquely need to pay the extra $15. Please read below. So, my point was that if your company was paying the bill then it should be obvious that your use is for business and not personal. However, if you were paying the bill yourself then you could argue that it is for "primary" personal use.

    Also, someone could argue that even if you were using a POP3 email account for business email and you were paying the bill yourself you should voluntarily pay the extra $15 per month. Not sure many would do that.


    FROM THE APPLE WEB SITE:

    Data Plan for iPhone
    When using iPhone for access to personal email, web browsing, or consumer applications such as games. $30

    Enterprise Data Plan for iPhone
    When using iPhone to access corporate email, company intranet sites, and/or other business solutions/applications. $45
     
  10. Sky Blue Guest

    Sky Blue

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    #10
    With MobileMe you get a new email account (@me.com). It's nothing to do with your work email.

    If you want to sync your work email with your phone you just have to make sure your IT dept has set it up right and enter your correct details.
     
  11. d21mike macrumors 68040

    d21mike

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2007
    Location:
    Torrance, CA
    #11
    Enterprise Data Plan

    I just got of the phone with ATT Business Accounts. I have decided to convert my Family Plan to a Business Account (I have a small business) and put a couple of other lines on the same account. While on the phone I ask if she could explain when I would need to pay the $45 per month vs $30 per month for the iPhone Data Plan. At this time I am using MobileMe but have considered using Exchange VIA GoDaddy's new Exchance support. I was told that I only had to pay the $45 per month if the Exchange Server was in house (i.e. on my own server located in my office). So if I was using Exchange Email via GoDaddy Exchange Server (or others) I could continue to pay $30 per month for my data plan even if on a business account. The reason for the business account is if you have 5 or more phones (not all on same billing) you get a 8% discount.
     
  12. BroadcastDoc macrumors 6502

    BroadcastDoc

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #12
    Good. It'll make up for the $15 I'm not sending them to get the same service.

    :D
     
  13. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #13
    excellent explanation -- i will be using my iPhone for my company's business (mail, calendar, etc) and I had the same question. this answers it.

    one more question: does the IT support guy need to do anything special on his end to allow my iPhone access to the Exchange Server? Open up a port, allow remote devices, etc...
     
  14. BroadcastDoc macrumors 6502

    BroadcastDoc

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI
    #14
    You'll just want to ask your IT folks to make sure that ActiveSync is turned on for your account.

    On my Exchange server, I leave AS off on new accounts by default. The users need to let me know that they that they need it turned on for a mobile device. That way I know who's using what to connect to my server. It takes all of thirty seconds to turn it on if it's configured.
     
  15. brn2ski00 macrumors 68020

    brn2ski00

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    #15
    That makes sense.

    I will contact my guy today.
     

Share This Page