Do You Invest?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by HappyDude20, Feb 4, 2011.

1. HappyDude20 macrumors 68020

HappyDude20

I recently closed my Chase account in lieu of a Charles Schwab account.

I really like the incredible array of tools presented to me on their site when logged on, however in all honesty I have no idea what i'm doing.

I see I can do ETFs, Mutual Bonds, Stocks, etc.

I'd like to learn my way around investing, though in complete honesty, am a total novice at it.

I'm sure i'm not the only one on the MR forums who is oblivious to investing, as i'm also sure there are numerous people in here who do in fact know their way around investing.

If anyone has any advice, or even guidance towards the right direction in helping me commence my research in this area, i'd truly appreciate it.

For a second I was even thinking about picking up one of those "Investing for Dummies" books, but lol, I think there are better books out there. .. . . . . . . .... . . .like I said, complete novice.

2. mgguy macrumors 6502

mgguy

3. EazyWeazy3 macrumors 6502

4. ucfgrad93 macrumors P6

ucfgrad93

5. HappyDude20 thread starter macrumors 68020

HappyDude20

I'm assuming you went into this with a prior knowledge of investing?

..See, I simply got my Charles Schwab account to get away from Chase Banking; but have noticed the ridiculous amount of tools at my disposal, something that Chase really lacked.

6. rhett7660 macrumors G4

rhett7660

Are you asking how to use the tools or are you trying to figure out what the tools are telling you and how to use that information to make informed decisions?

7. NickZac macrumors 68000

NickZac

Most of my friends are all business majors and many have the famous MBA (not a MacBook Air) and so I let them do that stuff for me...they may be better investors but I have a much more exciting careers. We also have investment options with the Federal Government but I've never really explored it much. :p