Do you need a data plan to access GPS?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by kriista1234, Mar 31, 2011.

  1. kriista1234 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #1
    Any UK folk here know if you can use the GPS in the 3G on a pay as you go SIM?

    I've had a virgin PAYG sim for a bunch of years now and don't use my iPhone (as a phone) to justify moving onto a data/monthly plan.

    Do you need a data plan to access the GPS functionality?
     
  2. hobo.hopkins macrumors 6502a

    hobo.hopkins

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2008
    #2
    From what I understand, the GPS will work although a data connection is necessary to download any maps that might be required for Google Maps, etc. I would assume that for any standalone GPS application that has maps already downloaded you would be alright without a data plan.
     
  3. heisenberg123 macrumors 603

    heisenberg123

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2010
    Location:
    Hamilton, Ontario
    #3
    the GPS it self doesnt use data but obtaining a map usually does unless your have the maps stored on the device like the tomtom app
     
  4. eastercat macrumors 68040

    eastercat

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Location:
    PDX
    #4
    IIRC, iphone's gps uses the cell towers to help with the lock. Have you tried it without the data plan?
     
  5. PaulyD macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Location:
    UK
    #5
    My understand of this is that it will use the data connection to lock on the GPS quicker (as said above) and use it to download maps, however if maps are stored locally and no data connection then it will take longer to connect but do so without 3G/edge

    I don't know for 100% though, just how I think it works
     
  6. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #6
    Correct, your GPS will "work" fine, but it needs data to pull down maps. If they aren't preloaded or without data access it will just show a blue dot on a field of grey
     
  7. Daveoc64 macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Location:
    Bristol, UK
    #7
    Correct.
     
  8. Applejuiced macrumors Westmere

    Applejuiced

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Location:
    At the iPhone hacks section.
    #8
    Exactly.
    GPS will work fine without a data plan as long as the maps are preinstalled on your phone like Navigon, Tomtom and other GPS apps for example.
     
  9. Gav2k macrumors G3

    Gav2k

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    #9
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8F190 Safari/6533.18.5)

    It'll work fine I have navigon and it runs without data usage!
     
  10. NicoleRichie macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    #10
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; U; CPU iPhone OS 4_3_1 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/533.17.9 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.0.2 Mobile/8G4 Safari/6533.18.5)

    I can confirm this. I have had a few experiences in the UK, Japan, and south america where my iPhone would not access the local data network resulting in what is mentioned above.
     
  11. -aggie- macrumors P6

    -aggie-

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Location:
    Where bunnies are welcome.
    #11
    You are correct.
     
  12. kriista1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #12
    That's pretty good to know!

    My car was broken into a few days ago and they took my GPS so I was investigating options. I didn't know this would work that easily.

    Thanks.
     
  13. kriista1234 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2008
    #13
    And to confirm the 3G (not 3Gs) has full GPS, not assisted only GPS or something funny like that?
     
  14. Interstella5555 macrumors 603

    Interstella5555

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    #14
    Full, the 2G was the only one without an actual GPS chip inside it.
     

Share This Page