Do you NEED a Retina MacBook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by KittyKatta, Mar 11, 2013.

?

Do you NEED a Retina MacBook?

1. Yes, the things I do on my Mac REQUIRE Retina clarity

28 vote(s)
    17.9%
  2. No, but I got one anyway because its so pretty

76 vote(s)
    48.7%
  3. No, the classic MacBook is good enough for me

52 vote(s)
    33.3%
  1. KittyKatta macrumors 6502a

KittyKatta

Last month I was shopping for a new MacBook Pro but after playing with a rMBP for a few minutes in the store I impulsively bought it. And while I appreciate the amazing screen, I'm just not sure how important of a feature it is to me.

I have a DSLR and a few quality lenses but I'm not a pro so having that Retina Screen feels more like a novelty than a necessity which is why I'm feeling a bit guilty about overspending by $500 :D. But how about everyone else. Did you buy a Retina MacBook because you NEED it, or did you buy it simply because you wanted to. And if you did "need" a Retina screen, then what do you need it for?

Thanks

2. xShane macrumors 6502a

xShane

I went with a cMBP.

Me, personally I didn't see that big of a difference with the Retina screen. I could however see a serious/professional photo editor needing a Retina instead of a cMBP, though.

3. leman macrumors 604

I find the question absurd. Does anyone ever needs anything? 99% of the users on these forums could do all their work on a generic Dell, maybe besides the photo experts, who do need a good monitor. However, compared to a generic Dell the retina MBP makes my computing life so much easier and more enjoyable.

4. Spink10 macrumors 601

Spink10

I dont need any of my Mac products - its not a basic necessity.

5. 1member1 macrumors 6502

I don't think i need a retina but i thought and still thinks this will be standard some day in apple computers so why not buy it already.