Do you need a specialized switch for link aggregation?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by dpaanlka, Aug 16, 2010.

  1. dpaanlka macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #1
    Do you need a specialized switch for link aggregation? Or will any switch work? I can't seem to find the answer to this (maybe because the answer is "no" and is thus not written about). I've never done it before so want to make sure what I need to buy. Thanks in advance!
     
  2. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #2
    yes, you need a switch that supports IEEE 802.3ad or IEEE 802.1AX-2008 (functionally the same thing, naming and management change). Not all switches do, though most "smart" and pretty much all managed switches should.

    This should help:
    Newegg search for 802.3ad
     
  3. dpaanlka thread starter macrumors 601

    dpaanlka

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Location:
    Illinois
    #3
    Thank you very much. When I setup the aggregate on Mac OS X, do these switches recognize it automatically? Or do they require some setup on the switch-side also?
     
  4. PaulD-UK macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2009
    #4
    Hi
    The Managed Switch will come with a software Management Control Panel.
    You will probably need some in-depth understanding of IP allocation and other networking terms and troubleshooting procedures when you RTFM ;)
     
  5. seek3r macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    #5
    Not necessarily for this though, if you set up a bonded link on the mac, most switches should recognize it without any config on that end.
     

Share This Page