Do you need to reset router when switching between Win and OSX?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by Luis Ortega, Feb 24, 2008.

  1. Luis Ortega macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #1
    I just set up my new mac pro with OSX 1.5.2 and Win XP using Bootcamp and it all works fine, but I have one question about connecting to the internet.

    I have a Belkin pre-N wireless router. I am connected using an ethernet cable.

    When I switch between OSX and Windows by restarting the computer, is it necessary to restart the router while the computer is off so that when it comes back on it can locate its proper connection?

    When I was working on my old PC and my new Mac Pro, I noticed that if I just took the ethernet cable from the Mac or PC and connected it to the other machine, it couldn't find the internet unless I turned off the router, waited a moment and turned it back on again, connected to the other machine and then started the machine.

    As the two OSs are now in the same machine, will this continue to happen or can I simply switch between operating systems without having to re-initialize the router before turning on the computer again?

    I haven't tried it yet because I am afraid to screw things up, so I am continuing to turn off, restart the router, re-connect and turn the computer on again. That work perfectly but it is tedious.

    Can anyone please advise on whether this is necessary or not?
    Thanks a lot for any advice.
     
  2. Eraserhead macrumors G4

    Eraserhead

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #2
    No, I never have, with a variety of wireless routers, though none of them are pre-n.
     
  3. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #3
    No you shouldnt have to keep switching your router on and off & stop worrying
     
  4. Luis Ortega thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2007
    Location:
    Fetcham Surrey UK
    #4
    Well, I took your advice and you are correct.
    The internet and email were still functional after just starting Windows and leaving the router alone.
    Thanks a lot for your help.
     
  5. Neil321 macrumors 68040

    Neil321

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Location:
    Britain, Avatar Created By Bartelby
    #5
    No worries
     

Share This Page