Do You Need Two Video Libraries?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by MadDoc, Feb 11, 2008.

  1. MadDoc macrumors 6502

    MadDoc

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #1
    I have a lot (about 1TB) of movies and TV shows ripped from my DVD collection on an external HDD. They are encoded using Handbrake with the AppleTV preset (which looks great).

    I am probably going to get an iTouch (just not sure whether to wait for the SDK or not) and I would like to have some video on the iPod. Do I really need re-encode anything I want to watch on the iPod? Can the iPod not just rescale movis to fit its screen?

    If not, that seems like an enormous disadvantage.

    Thanks,

    MadDoc
     
  2. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #2
    You will need to re-encode them. Not a resolution issue, as IPT/iPhone have 480x320 screens but can display 640x580 video. Its all about bitrate and encoding types.
     
  3. MadDoc thread starter macrumors 6502

    MadDoc

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #3
    So the iPod Touch can't handle 2000bps h.264 video?

    MadDoc,
     
  4. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia

Share This Page