Do you put a firmware password on your Mac?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by AppleFan360, Apr 23, 2019.

  1. AppleFan360 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    #1
    Just curious. With every iMac I've owned I immediately generate a firmware password. Seems to make sense as a safeguard in case it gets stolen.

    Does anyone else do this? Is it even a good idea?
     
  2. MacDawg macrumors Core

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #2
    I have never used a firmware password
    But then again, I don't use Filevault either
    And I run my 2 Macs from an Administrator account as well

    So prolly best not to model after my behavior as I am a reckless rebel
     
  3. Steve121178 macrumors 601

    Steve121178

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Location:
    Bedfordshire, UK
    #3
    I encrypt the drive using FileVault. I don't need to do anything more.
     
  4. petsk, Apr 23, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 23, 2019

    petsk macrumors 6502

    petsk

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2009
    #4
    I always do, for the same reason. You just have to remember to remove it when or if you sell your Mac :)
     
  5. fisherking macrumors 604

    fisherking

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Location:
    ny somewhere
    #5
    i always had a firmware password on my macs (powerbooks, macbooks); but, 2 years ago, everything went to hell; i couldn't log in to my mac, the cursor would get stuck, or i'd finally drag it to the password window, type a key... which would then repeat forever.

    i had to take it to the apple store with my purchase receipt, and got it back a day later. so (for me), no more firmware password.

    just my experience, of course..!
     
  6. nambuccaheadsau macrumors 68000

    nambuccaheadsau

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Location:
    Nambucca Heads Australia
    #6
    Essential - if you are a former KGB assassin or such. For the rest of us not really necessary and can cause problems,
     
  7. Fishrrman macrumors P6

    Fishrrman

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    #7
    A firmware password "sounds great" -- until you forget it, or something goes wrong and you find yourself locked out of your own Mac (sometimes with no way to "get back inside").

    Then... it ain't so great...
     
  8. macduke macrumors G4

    macduke

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Location:
    Central U.S.
    #8
    Same, lol. Though I do use FileVault on my work MBP since it's easier to lose/get stolen, but not on my iMac which is pretty well locked down in my house behind my security system/cameras.

    Anyone know if there is much of a performance difference with FileVault on nowadays? If not then I might turn it on.
     
  9. chrfr macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #9
    I always use both a firmware password and Filevault. I've never had an issue.
     
  10. xgman macrumors 601

    xgman

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2007
    #10
    This is not a good idea. I sold an imac to someone who lost their password and it was a nightmare getting apple to step in.
     
  11. glenthompson macrumors 68000

    glenthompson

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2011
    Location:
    Virginia
    #11
    No but I do use FileVault since the drive on my 2011 MBP is easily removable.
     

Share This Page

10 April 23, 2019