do you reset PRAM after installing RAM?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by neurophysicist, Jul 26, 2011.

  1. neurophysicist macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dagobah
    #1
    I was never aware of PRAM/its function until recently.

    Noob question, but after installing RAM, are you always supposed to reset your mac's PRAM using the command + option + P + R sequence?

    Also, for how many beeps must this be done? On the apple website it says twice

    http://support.apple.com/kb/ht1379

    though in a video I saw for inserting RAM in a 2011 MBP the user waited for 3 beeps. I realize the apple site is more reliable but I was wondering if I could get any feedback here. Thanks.
     
  2. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #2
    There's really no need. Install the RAM and enjoy! :cool:
     
  3. neurophysicist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dagobah
    #3
    Thanks for the advice ahdickter. Do you typically run a hardware test after installing RAM? If so, how do you do so under Lion (since there is no disc for the test)? Hmm, I am doing a clean install of Lion and have the installer prepared on a thumb drive (following directions from this video currently <http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=irgiVzBwaos>) Would that be useful at all in trying to do a hardware test? Thanks
     
  4. ahdickter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
    #4
    The diagnostics program that is included with OS X is inadequate in determining if your RAM is stable or not. The best program to test your newly installed hardware would be MemTest86. It runs off a CD at boot, and simply stresses the memory. It runs outside of Mac OS to fully utilize and test the RAM.

    Here's the link to the program:

    http://www.memtest.org/

    Download it as a bootable ISO and then run it for 12 passes (it takes about an hour a pass.) If it runs without any problems at the end (and most likely it will) then the RAM is solid and should cause you no problems. Good Luck!
     
  5. neurophysicist thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dagobah
    #5
    sorry for the very late response, I have been out of the country for some time and only now have a screwdriver necessary for changing my RAM.

    I was wondering if someone could provide a more detailed explanation (step by step) of what to do as I am a noob. After downloading the .dmg file, how exactly do I 'run' this? Is memtest supposed to be run outside the OS (in order to stress the memory), from a flash drive/external drive? I found the users guide, but was still a bit confused. Thanks.
     
  6. Chinamao macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    #6
    My own experience in upgrading my own RAM is to make sure that the new RAM type is the same as the one. Then you would not have to battle at all.
     

Share This Page