Do you restore from a backup or set up as new?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by iMas70, Oct 14, 2017.

?

Do you restore from a backup or set up as new?

  1. Restore from a backup

    24 vote(s)
    61.5%
  2. Set up as new

    15 vote(s)
    38.5%
  1. iMas70 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    MA
    #1
    I have over 16,000 pictures on my phone along with a lot of apps that I never use. I think it’s time to stop carrying them from one phone to the next. I’m planning on setting up my iPhone X as new when I receive it. How do you set up your new phones?
     
  2. akash.nu macrumors 604

    akash.nu

    Joined:
    May 26, 2016
  3. Mrs. Jobs macrumors member

    Mrs. Jobs

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    HONG KONG
    #3
    Over 15,000 pics and 200 apps.

    Always from backup OTA and never any issues.
     
  4. Jimpilot macrumors 6502a

    Jimpilot

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2014
    Location:
    DFW, Texas
  5. PBz macrumors 68020

    PBz

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2005
    Location:
    PVB, Florida
  6. ABC5S Suspended

    ABC5S

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2013
    Location:
    Florida
    #6
    I’ve always set up as new. No problem at my end
     
  7. dumastudetto macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    #7
    For those tracking and storing health data, restoring is your only option at this point. If you want to keep you health achievements, streaks, etc.
     
  8. joeblow7777 macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    #8
    Restore from backup.

    I’ve gone 3GS to 5s to 6 to 8+ always doing this.

    People say that they set up as new to prevent junk and problems from compiling. I’ve never had this problem. I want my new phone to immediately take the place of my old one, with all the apps, settings, content, etc. Right there.
     
  9. LoveToMacRumors macrumors 68020

    LoveToMacRumors

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2015
    Location:
    Canada
  10. iMas70 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    MA
    #10
    I'd say the reason I don't want to restore from a backup this time is because of all of my photos. I have a 132GB iPhone 6 that has 24GB available. There are 16406 photos, 357 videos and 211 applications. I'm checking those numbers as I'm typing this. It's been over 5 minutes and the number of photos still hasn't displayed in settings. I had to check in the photos section. Now that I think about it, they are on my iPad too so they will be loaded from iCloud.
     
  11. blcfla macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2013
    #11
    Been restoring from backup since my 4S, so on my 5,5S,6,6S, and now still on the 7, all from backups. never an issue so far.
     
  12. chanerz macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2010
  13. stabile007 macrumors regular

    stabile007

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2009
    Location:
    Philadelphia, PA
    #13
    It is funny I was thinking about this the other day. I usually restore from backup because it is so easy. I did start new like two or three times the biggest issue for me is my text messages. I never realized just how many photos are stored in my texts throughout time. I really need to start saving them.
     
  14. iMas70 thread starter macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2012
    Location:
    MA
    #14
    That's right. I forgot about that. I keep all of my texts. They go back years. I don't need them but I like to have them. Those old texts have come in handy and as you mentioned, the pictures that go along with them.
     
  15. mattopotamus macrumors G5

    mattopotamus

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    #15
    I always restore from backup. Only 1 time have I ever had issues and I set the phone up as new. My advice is restore from backup. If you encounter an issue then set up as new. Why waste unnecessary time setting up as new when a backup works perfect for 99.9% of people.
    --- Post Merged, Oct 15, 2017 ---
    easy enough to turn that feature off in messages :)
     

Share This Page

14 October 14, 2017