Do you setup your iPhone as "New" when you get them, or restore from backups?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by brig2221, Sep 12, 2014.

  1. brig2221 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #1
    In the past, I simply restored from my iCloud backup, which would sync and pull in all my contacts, IM's, settings, and Apps to my new phone.

    For whatever reason, I think I want to start fresh and setup the phone as new, and then re-download the apps I want and start fresh with arranging them, etc. Think of it as a spring cleaning ;)

    Anyhow, is there a way for me to setup the phone as new and only have my Contacts and Messages synced from iCloud, but nothing else?

    Just curious what everyone else does, do you setup as new or restore from your previous iPhone (if you had one)?
     
  2. cymolia macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2012
    Location:
    Orange County, FL
  3. ehzool macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2014
    #3
    I always set it up as new.

    1. Because as you said, I do a bit of spring cleaning.
    2. It gives me more time to play with my new phone ;) If I just back it up, there's nothing to do
     
  4. bobright macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
  5. rritterson macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    DC USA
    #6
    Contacts, yes--just setup as new and then enable iCloud contacts, presuming you were using iCloud contact syncing before.

    Messages, no, there is no way to cloud sync them without restoring a whole backup.

    I always restore from backup. Saves time, puts all my icons where I like them, sets app settings to what I want, etc.
     
  6. phpmaven macrumors 68040

    phpmaven

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    San Clemente, CA USA
    #7
    As long as you don't care about losing your text messages and call history, you can setup as new.
     
  7. karmatourer macrumors 6502a

    karmatourer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2011
    Location:
    In my house
  8. mileycyrus macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    #9
    If you plan to restore from backup, do you need to upgrade your current phone to ios8 first? Or will it be able to restore an ios7 backup onto the ios8 iphone 6?
     
  9. spoa94 macrumors 6502a

    spoa94

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    #10
    You can restore from iOS 7. You just can't go backward (restore a iOS 7 device with a iOS 8 backup)
     
  10. sixxmum macrumors 6502a

    sixxmum

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    #11
    I've done both, but I'm thinking about starting fresh this time. On the other hand, I do like how I have it arranged now...
     
  11. vitacura macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2014
    #12
    In the past I have set up from backup, but I will probably set up as a new one next time.
     
  12. ron7624 Contributor

    ron7624

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2011
    Location:
    Houston, Texas area
    #13
    Restore from iTunes encrypted backup. I don't want to loose where all my stuff is. I'm comfortable with things where they belong and have never had any issues.
    I've set up as new a couple of times, only to go back and do a full restore later.
     
  13. selahvie macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    #14
    What about all your app data (games, etc.)? What do you folks do about that, or does is just not bother you?
     
  14. Jon1323 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Location:
    Louisville, Ky
    #15
    I've done both but that past couple I've set up as new and will do the same with the 6. I like starting fresh better.
     
  15. ronm99 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2012
    #16
    I always restore and never have a problem with it.

    Going the "new" route is no problem if you don't have any data on your phone that you care about saving (other than stuff that is backed up on servers / the cloud).
     
  16. Ncage1974 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    #17
    Always a backup and its exactly what i plan to do this time. If you have your phone setup exactly how you like it why setup everything again?
     
  17. thatoneguy82 macrumors 68000

    thatoneguy82

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2008
    Location:
    Beach Cities, CA
    #18
    I always restore from backup. Been doing this forever, which is why I got the 128GB. I keep ALL my texts and photos. My current 32GB has almost 0MB space since it's filled with 12GB of photos and 4.5GB of texts.
     
  18. Ann P macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2009
    Location:
    California
    #19
    New always. Got my contacts in the cloud and photos saved, I'm set.
     
  19. whsbuss macrumors 68040

    whsbuss

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Location:
    SE Penna.
    #20
    When restoring doesn't the "other" data also get restored? I've got 2.13GB on my 5 right now.
     
  20. brig2221 thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    #21
    I think so, which is why I want to setup as new.
     
  21. Photography macrumors 65816

    Photography

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    #22
    Yes, that is correct. If you restore from a backup, the "other" data will get restored. The only way to prevent this from happening is to set it up as new.
     
  22. ZBoater macrumors G3

    ZBoater

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    #23
    I usually restore from backup, but this time I'm setting up as new. Time to spring clean.
     
  23. 34 Volt macrumors regular

    34 Volt

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2013
    Location:
    NYC
  24. Cool Pup macrumors 6502a

    Cool Pup

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    #25
    Restore. I have too many pictures and information that would be tedious to get back on there.
     

Share This Page