Do you start on Paper, Photoshop, or in Fireworks?

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by eclipse, Dec 11, 2008.

1. eclipse macrumors 6502a

eclipse

I'm wondering which professional web designers start what way... and is Fireworks better than drawing up a web-page in Photoshop and then converting that into a web page?

2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

I am no pro but most of my pages were crafted on paper for starts to show a client. It was then all pretty much done in DW. I don't use Fireworks much (at all).

Clients like the paper method it seems, but know I am not a pro and my clients have been generated through word of mouth or by way of my mommy. ;)

3. drichards macrumors 6502a

drichards

Always start with an idea on paper. Always. No exceptions. Whether you're working on a webpage, writing a thesis, making a kids toy, attempting to breach the space-time continuum, or just doodling. Paper is the foundation of all that is good.

4. eclipse thread starter macrumors 6502a

eclipse

Frees up the creative juices hey?:D

Nice to meet a DW user. I'm just starting off... I haven't designed web-pages since GoLive a few years back and it messed up the code so much the pages started to crash. But then, I didn't understand CSS or good XHTML either, so hopefully by the time I've done all my CSS tutorials I'll be better able to appreciate how DW does what it does.

Do you use code much?

5. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

GoCubsGo

Yeah I use code quite a bit. I use text wrangler instead of good ole' notepad. However, I've found myself gravitating to DW more often than not.

I did use GL for a while, actually, that's what I use on my old powerbook given it doesn't like the CS3 design suite much. It was not as easy to me as DW, but that is force of habit more than anything.

Back in the day when I cared/had time, I wrote most pages in notepad and used DW for layout work mostly.