Do you think it would be possible to water cool my GPU?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by rabidz7, Oct 31, 2013.

  1. rabidz7 macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #1
    I currently have a non reference 7970 in my Mac Pro. I may soon be exchanging it for a reference 7970. It is powered by cables that are going in through a removed slot cover that is for the PCIe slots. Could I send tubes to watercool the card through the rear PCIe slots where the cables are? My idea is to put the rad, res, and pump outside the case with the tubes going through the case to the GPU.
     
  2. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #2
    That should work fine, but don't forget you need to power the pump and fans from somewhere in a way that starts them when the MP is turned on.

    If you look at PC water-cooling websites, you will see there are some external cooling solutions like you suggest. You would probably be advised to get a 2x120mm radiator since the GPU is the primary source of heat in a computer these days.

    Keep us updated with how you get on.
     
  3. rabidz7 thread starter macrumors 65816

    rabidz7

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2012
    Location:
    Ohio
    #3
    I can't start until I get this GPU traded for a reference one. I hope I can trade it.
     
  4. DanielCoffey macrumors 65816

    DanielCoffey

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2010
    Location:
    Edinburgh, UK
    #4
    There are plenty of water cooling forums which may be able to offer advice but personally, I would start thinking about a small Mini-PC case just big enough to hold a small PSU, a decent radiator and fans and use it to house all the gubbins except the GPU block.

    I don't know how you would handle the power handshake between the two but worse case you could leave the pump and fans running 24/7. If you were scrupulous about remembering to power it on first, you could shut it down at night.
     
  5. AidenShaw macrumors P6

    AidenShaw

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2003
    Location:
    The Peninsula
    #5
    I have a couple of these "smart strips".

    [​IMG]
    http://www.pcmag.com/slideshow/story/296908/10-green-tech-gadgets/8
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...MATCH&Description=smart+strip&N=-1&isNodeId=1

    The red outlets are always on. Plug the MP into the blue outlet. When the MP starts, the green outlets will turn on. When the MP shuts down or sleeps, the green outlets shut off. (The threshold for "on" is settable, so that standby or sleep power won't turn on the greens.)

    Very handy for making sure that the monitor, printer, external drives and other stuff don't draw standby power.
     
  6. 666sheep macrumors 68040

    666sheep

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Location:
    Poland
    #6
    Why only the GPU? WC whole MP. Check drrbc's posts.
     

Share This Page