Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

JonnyApple

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 3, 2011
As a college student I purchased an iPad as I thought it would be useful with school doing things such as taking notes and carrying all my textbooks on it as ebooks/PDFs. Ive quickly learned that getting textbooks on the iPad
Is just not really feasible as the selection is awful - and most apps only let you rent textbooks (for a ridiculously high price) so that U can access them on only on the Internet over a limited period of time. I've even tried finding PDF torrents of text books and using good reader but I'm having no luck (and the books I needare widely used textbooks).

Its nice having something so light and convenient to access the Internet with especially at a huge campus like mine- but I do find that I prefer surfing the Internet on my MacBook better anyway, where I can multitask, (or at least chat while surfing web) and use gestures (seriously the lack of gestures on the iPad is disturbing).

Do tout ink it would be in my best interest to just get my money back for this thing? Thanks.

RossMc

macrumors 65816
Apr 30, 2010
Newcastle, UK
If you don't think you are getting the use out of it you thought you were going to then you should sell it. No point of keeping it just to have an iPad if it isn't getting used.

I haven't had a problem getting any of the textbooks which I needed for my course. I have found PDF's of every book I have needed and either kept them on my iPad as PDF (To add annotations etc with GoodReader) or used Calibre to convert them to ePub format and open them with iBooks.

JonnyApple

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Aug 3, 2011
If you don't think you are getting the use out of it you thought you were going to then you should sell it. No point of keeping it just to have an iPad if it isn't getting used.