Do you think the iPod touch 3G should get iOS 6?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by coolguy879, Aug 17, 2012.

  1. coolguy879 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    #1
    Since the iPhone 3GS is getting it, shouldn't the iPod touch 3G get it too.
     
  2. stiligFox macrumors 6502a

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #2
    AFAIK the 3rd gen iPod touch has a lesser processor than the 3GS. Has much as it struggles with iOS 5, I'd hate to see it try to do iOS 6.
     
  3. Plutonius macrumors 603

    Plutonius

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2003
    Location:
    New Hampshire
    #3
    You have to have the cut-off somewhere and this will get the 3G Touch users to upgrade to the next gen if they want the new IOS.
     
  4. APlotdevice macrumors 68040

    APlotdevice

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2011
    #4
    The third gen uses exactly the same processor as the 3GS. It also has the same amount of RAM.
     
  5. tonyr6, Aug 17, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2012

    tonyr6 macrumors 6502a

    tonyr6

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Location:
    Brooklyn NY
    #5
    It has nothing to do that iOS 6 can't run it is that Apple stops updating there software for devices that they don't sell anymore. They still sell the iPhone 3GS but not the iPod Touch 3rd Gen.
     
  6. coolguy879 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
  7. stiligFox macrumors 6502a

    stiligFox

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Location:
    10.0.1.3
    #7
    Ah, it was the second gen had slightly less than 3G internals is what I was thinking then.

    Thanks for correcting me! :)
     
  8. coolguy879 thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    #8
    Is there a way to hack iOS 6 on the iPod touch 3G? One of my friends has an original iPhone with a hacked version of iOS 5.1.1 so maybe it's possible. I'm not sure.
     
  9. GoodBoy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    #9
    Currently own iPod touch 3rd gen. Very happy with iOS 5. I don't think it should get iOS6, no need for it. Perfeclty works with iOS5, very smooth with minor glitches. Anyways I'm selling it very soon and getting iPod touch 5:)
     

Share This Page