Do you think the quads will be able to run Leopard?

Discussion in 'iMac' started by iBug2, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. iBug2 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
  2. Hellhammer Moderator

    Hellhammer

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2008
    Location:
    Finland
  3. r.j.s Moderator emeritus

    r.j.s

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Location:
    Texas
    #3
    I think you'd lose a lot of power by running Leopard over SL, since the machine was designed to take advantage of SL features.
     
  4. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #4
    A machine will only run the OS it was released with or newer.
     
  5. cantthinkofone macrumors 65816

    cantthinkofone

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2004
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    #5
    Source?
     
  6. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #6
    What the...?
     
  7. rdowns macrumors Penryn

    rdowns

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2003
    #7

    20+ years of using Macs.

    You can't load older versions of the OS on anew Mac as it will not have the appropriate drivers you need.
     
  8. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #8
    Speaking technicaly, 10.5.6 restore dvd from 2009macpro has support for hd4850 and nehalem-generation cpus.

    so, maybe that install disk, or 10.5.7/10.5.8 would work.
     
  9. richard.mac macrumors 603

    richard.mac

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Location:
    51.50024, -0.12662
    #9
    dont the quad core iMacs need an updated kernel to support the Core i5 & i7 and the P55 chipset?
     
  10. DDave macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Location:
    Texas
  11. 300D macrumors 65816

    300D

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Location:
    Tulsa
    #11
    Every Mac since 1984.
     
  12. netkas macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    #12
    usb/ahci support for p55 is already in leopard(actualy the support is almost hw version independent)
     
  13. jsnuff1 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2003
    Location:
    NY
    #13
    yea I can confirm that no mac will run an OS older than the one it was shipped with (other than the small point updates), and using another computer's OS install disk wont work either.
     
  14. frunkis54 macrumors 65816

    frunkis54

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
  15. iBug2 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #15
    The reason I asked is this. My father is thinking of buying an iMac, but he's still using Macromedia Freehand, which apparently doesn't work well on SL, but works somehow ok on Leopard still. So if he can't install Leopard on new iMacs, he'll just have to buy the current 24" one.

    Which is a shame really.
     

Share This Page