Do you use LeopardAssist?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by Jordan XP, Aug 14, 2019 at 11:41 AM.

Tags:
?

How do you run Leopard on your unsupported G4?

This poll will close on Aug 21, 2019 at 11:41 AM.
  1. LeopardAssist

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Open Firmware

    12.5%
  3. My G4 doesn't officially support Leopard, and I am running Tiger or earlier

    25.0%
  4. My G4 officially supports Leopard

    50.0%
  5. I don't have a G4

    12.5%
  1. Jordan XP macrumors member

    Jordan XP

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2019
    #1
    It lets you run Leopard on unsupported G4s without even touching Open Firmware.
    Regular computer users would know how to use LeopardAssist as easy as it is to save a document!

    I recommend it for non-power users that want Leopard on an unsupported G4.

    Also, it is worth noting that it only upgrades you to Leopard. It does not do a clean install. However, who wants to do a clean install anyway?

    Note: If you're a power user, then you should use Open Firmware to unofficially install Leopard.
     
  2. bunnspecial macrumors 604

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #2
    I generally do a TDM install from a PowerBook or other supported computer.

    LeoAssist is a useful program, but it also doesn't help you in really tricky situations-like trying to install Leo on a G4 PCI Mac.
     
  3. z970mp macrumors 68000

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Location:
    A UNIX System
    #3
    All LeopardAssist does is fake a higher CPU speed to pass the install check. Nothing more.

    Where are you getting your information?
     
  4. swamprock, Aug 14, 2019 at 12:44 PM
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2019 at 8:46 PM

    swamprock macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #4
    I just use Target Disk Mode. Back in the day, I only had a DP 500mhz Mystic G4 machine, and for 10.5.0 we had to fake the processor ID with Open Firmware or modify the installer DVD; the latter of which being what I did.

    My exchange with Dan from LEM about this very subject, back in 2007- http://lowendmac.com/mail/mb07/1031.html#5

    (I was in my late 30s... so young then... :D)
     
  5. ScreenSavers macrumors 6502a

    ScreenSavers

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    Location:
    Bloomingdale, GA
    #5
    Never could get LeopardAssist to work. Not even the newest version. The open firmware hack had worked for me though.
     
  6. bunnspecial macrumors 604

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #6
    Yes indeed. Once you load the Leo installer, you have all of the standard options, including upgrade, archive and install, or clean install. You can also access disk utility and wipe/repartition the disk if you want before installing, so you have no option other than a clean install.
     
  7. ziggy29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon North Coast
    #7
    All you have to do is run LeopardAssist once, get the installer to run, and then you run Leopard normally as with any other Power Mac that natively supported it. Am I missing something?
     
  8. bunnspecial macrumors 604

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #8
    As long as the computer has AGP graphics(Sawtooth and later, G4-upgraded Pismo and later) you are correct.

    Macs with PCI graphics need some extra "black magic" to get Leopard running. The most common ones on which you would do this are the Yikes! G4 and a B&W G3 with a G4 upgrade, but you can stretch this back to the beige G3 and even 8500/9500 if you want. The only one really defeating me is the Lombard G3.
     
  9. ziggy29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon North Coast
    #9
    Oh, yeah. I remember trying to challenge myself to see if I could load Leopard on my 7600 with a 1 GHz G4 card. I gave up. :)
     
  10. bunnspecial macrumors 604

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #10
    It can be done. Both @LightBulbFun and @Intell have done it on an 8600/9600, which fundamentally isn't that different from a 7600.

    Your biggest obstacle is RAM. I managed to piece together enough to run Tiger satisfactorily in my 8600, but found that my mismatched bundle of RAM was extremely unstable with a 1ghz Sonnet G4(it actually WAS stable in Tiger with the 200mhz 604, but also so slow as to be unusable). I finally bought a whole big pile of 128mb modules and maxed both my 8600 and 9600, plus have enough to get most of the way there with my 7350. In any case, that let Tiger run stably. One of my long overdue projects is to get Leopard running on that computer.

    As a few suggestions:

    1. Forget using the internal HDD-you probably won't find a SCSI drive big enough for Leopard. I suggest a Sonnet or ACARD bootable ATA card, which will let you use any size ATA drive. Something like 80gb is relatively easy to find/inexpensive and more than enough for Leopard. This also lets you use an ATAPI DVD drive.

    2. The onboard graphics should theoretically work in Leopard, but your life will be a lot easier if you use a Radeon 7000, or even better a Radeon 9200. Unfortunately, CI cards like the FX 5200 don't work in OWR Macs.

    3. The general install process is the same as for something like a B&W G3-basically you need a bunch of platform support kexts from Tiger and the Leopard WWDC preview(the latter was elusive for a while, but I finally found a copy somewhere or another-I actually have it running as-is on a 900mhz iBook G3). You then need to set the permissions correctly.
     
  11. ziggy29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon North Coast
    #11
    I have this machine as prepared as I can be in terms of hardware. It already runs Tiger. I have a PCI IDE card attached to two large IDE drives, one SSD and one HDD. And there is a 20 GB partition sitting empty, just in case I can get it done! The RAM is maxed out -- 8x128MB, all matched.

    One of the PCI slots has a Radeon 9200. The third PCI slot has a combination FW/USB 2.0 card.

    Tiger runs, well... it runs, not horribly. I have slot envy for a 9600. :)

    I don't expect Leopard to run *well* on this machine, but the challenge is to do it at all.
     
  12. bunnspecial macrumors 604

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #12

    It's a shame that I can't bring myself to stick a G4 in my 9600/200MP.

    I agree that the slots can get rather cramped on the 7300/8600 class systems since ideally in OSX you want video, an IDE card, a USB/FW card, and then hopefully a 10/100 ethernet card. At least they do have onboard ethernet, but its nice to have some more room to spread out.
     
  13. Slix macrumors 65816

    Slix

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    #13
    I've never used it.

    I have used Target Disk Mode to install Leopard onto unsupported G4s before though. Not exactly my forte, because I'd prefer Leopard on a machine that runs it really well, but it works.
     
  14. reukiodo macrumors regular

    reukiodo

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Location:
    Earth
    #14
    It seems there needs to be a TDM option in the poll for better accuracy.

    I picked the OFW option, since TDM option isn't present.
     
  15. swamprock, Aug 14, 2019 at 9:06 PM
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2019 at 9:23 PM

    swamprock macrumors 6502a

    swamprock

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2015
    Location:
    Michigan
    #15
    That's the WWDC 2006 preview (9A303), correct? I'm attempting to hunt it down...
     
  16. reukiodo macrumors regular

    reukiodo

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Location:
    Earth
    #16
    I have been looking for that for a long while. If someone finds it, please share.
     
  17. z970mp macrumors 68000

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Location:
    A UNIX System
    #17
    Rest assured that the very moment they do, it will have been permanently archived to the Garden. ;)
     
  18. Amethyst1 macrumors 6502

    Amethyst1

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    #18
    Chances are high it's on BetaArchive's FTP server. (No, I don't have access to it.)
     
  19. d-oost macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    #19
    Yes, it's one of the eight beta Leopard builds on the BetaArchive FTP. And no, don't ask me for an image, I'm not going to break their FTP rules to give anyone a copy.
     
  20. LightBulbFun macrumors 68020

    LightBulbFun

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2013
    Location:
    London UK
    #20
    did someone mention running OS X on some horribly unsupported hardware?

    because thats my middle name! :)

    https://forums.macrumors.com/thread...os-x-10-5-8-power-macintosh-9600-fun.2144305/

    heres a link to a premade Leopard image I put together https://mega.nz/#!ZNJzRR4A!mA1svzvbBzWa7dJwH8XlWUjJ-3xiSBAxzeHlWaKgSP4

    its a bit crude and unfinished but it works, just image it to a HDD then in Xpostfacto do "install all" (because there's a couple kexts I forgot to install when I uploaded that image)

    then set xpostfacto to boot it and you should boot up no problem :)

    (you will also have to reset the user password, as I set it to something that was not my own password so I didn't have to give that out and then promptly forgot what the password was LOL)


    id like to do some more work on it all, but I really need to get some more RAM for the 9600, but finding 128MB sticks these days is easier said then done sadly
     
  21. ziggy29 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2014
    Location:
    Oregon North Coast
    #21
    Thanks. I've downloaded it and saved these instructions. Next time I dust off the 7600 to play with it for a couple hours, I'll try this.
     
  22. Intell macrumors P6

    Intell

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Location:
    Inside
    #22
    You just need one of those super neat Sonnet cards with USB 2, FireWire, and IDE all on the same card :D
     
  23. z970mp macrumors 68000

    z970mp

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2017
    Location:
    A UNIX System
    #23
    I hope they come with heatsinks attached. :D
     
  24. reukiodo macrumors regular

    reukiodo

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2013
    Location:
    Earth
    #24
    I have one of these Sonnet Tempo Trio cards and they are great!
     
  25. bunnspecial macrumors 604

    bunnspecial

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Location:
    Kentucky
    #25
    Have a spare or three(or a dozen) you want to sell? :)

    I can think of a few computers that would love them, including my 8600 G4 and my "hotrod" G3 beige with a 1ghz Sonnet G4.
     

Share This Page

31 August 14, 2019