Do you use time machine if you run Mac os 10.5?

Discussion in 'macOS' started by sam10685, Feb 25, 2009.

?

Do you use time machine if you run Mac os 10.5?

Poll closed Feb 25, 2010.
  1. Yes

    20 vote(s)
    83.3%
  2. No

    4 vote(s)
    16.7%
  1. sam10685 macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #1
    Do you use time machine if you run Mac os 10.5?
     
  2. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
  3. sam10685 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #3
    Want to get a new wireless router but am wondering if I should invest in a Time capsule or not. (Finally am getting a new macbook pro.)
     
  4. Blair230 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Location:
    Near Philly
    #4
    I bought a 750GB Firewire Mybook external hard drive. It works great with Time Machine!
     
  5. velocityg4 macrumors 68040

    velocityg4

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Location:
    Georgia
    #5
    I backup manually for several reasons. Nearly all of my data is stored on a central Windows box. That way all computers can access pictures, iTunes etc... without the need to synchronize network computers. Also I can not stand automated routines as they can cause sudden unexpected slow downs, I do not allow software to automatically check for updates even that is all done manually.

    If I were to use a Mac backup program though I would get SuperDuper! as it creates a bootable mirror image of your hard drive. That way if your internal tanks you can just swap drives and keep chugging along until you buy a replacement backup drive.

    However since you are getting a Macbook Pro I assume you want to backup wirelessly and automatically. Then the Time Capsule paired with Time Machine is likely a useful option.
     
  6. Roy Hobbs macrumors 68000

    Roy Hobbs

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    #6
    you don't need a time capsule to run Time Machine
     
  7. edgew8 macrumors regular

    edgew8

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    #7
    No, Don't need it. I never delete a file I need and as a former long time windows user I learned to back up everything important via dvds.

    I read a lot of problems people have had with Time Machine not working the way it should so I don't trust it either
     
  8. Old Muley macrumors 6502a

    Old Muley

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2009
    Location:
    Titletown USA
    #8
    I don't have a Time Capsule, so I run Time Machine using a LaCie Firewire external drive. No problems and I've been able to do restores without too much trouble. My only wish is that I had gotten a bigger HD (mine's only 250gb).
     
  9. sam10685 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #9
    I want time machine to work wirelessly though. Otherwise what's the point in getting a laptop if you have a hard drive that you constantly have to plug and unplug into the computer?
     
  10. mcruzader macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2008
    #10
    I time machine to a portable 500GB drive, but I also use backblaze to have all of my stuff offsite and some peace of mind. I can't even imagine losing all of my data, I would go crazy! I just couldn't take that chance.
     
  11. Scarlet Fever macrumors 68040

    Scarlet Fever

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Location:
    Bookshop!
    #11
    I use time machine via external 1TB WD My Book Studio. It's saved me many times in the past;

    1 event of upgrading the hard drive
    1 event of hard drive failure
    2 events of accidental file deletion

    If i were still on Tiger, I'd be upgrading just for Time Machine. It is incredibly powerful, yet very intuitive and easy to use. I love it.
     
  12. sam10685 thread starter macrumors 68000

    sam10685

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    #12
    True... Except I've been using computers for ~15 years and have never had an issue, so that's why I ask. Is it really worth it?
     
  13. dmmcintyre3 macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    #13
    I use it with a 500 GB My Book external hard drive but I wish my PowerBook supported 2 hard drives so I could back up to an internal hard drive
     

Share This Page