Do you use your rMBP discrete graphics all the time?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by Traverse, Aug 5, 2014.

  1. Traverse macrumors 603

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #1
    Note: this was first posted in the Mavericks forum by mistake. Moderators feel free to merge or delete the other post.

    I have the 2013 Retina MacBook Pro with the 750M dGPU.

    The thing is. Prior to this I had a 2011 Macbook Pro that I used with a 23" 1080p monitor and eventually a Thunderbolt display. I used it like this for about 3 months before the dGPU failed.

    Since getting this computer I have used it with just the built in display. It is beautiful and vivd, but I miss my old clamshell (sometimes dual screen) setup. The thing is, I am very nervous about running the dGPU all the time. I realize that the 2011 models had a design flaw, but I'm still cautious. I wish this was the Iris Pro only machine for peace of mind, but aw well.

    So: Do you use your Retina MB dGPU all the time? Do you think it would hurt? I know it shouldn't hurt, but Apple has a bad history.
     
  2. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #2
    My rMBP is frequently connected to my external monitor so its on the dGPU much of the time.
     
  3. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #3
    No, I use my integrated graphics all the time when I'm out and about. I prefer better battery life.

    Actually if my computer wasn't a warranty replacement (I probably would still have my old one), I would have gotten the one without the dGPU.

    In the past 6 months I'd say 40% of the time was hooked up to an monitor so it was forced in dGPU mode.

    That said, I don't really concern myself with whether or not the GPU will fail or not.
     
  4. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #4
    I do too, but it switches to the DGPU when I hook up my monitor. I thought it has too run the monitor on the dGPU. I'll try switching it when I get on my rMBP later this morning.
     
  5. Traverse thread starter macrumors 603

    Traverse

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2013
    Location:
    Here
    #5
    Whenever I use utilities to force the iGPU and then connect an external display, the display remains black until I allow the dGPU.
     
  6. yjchua95 macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    GVA, KUL, MEL (current), ZQN
    #6
    On models with the dGPU, the dGPU must be active for external displays because the iGPU isn't connected physically to the Thunderbolt port.
     
  7. maflynn Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #7
    That makes sense, I probably never investigated why I couldn't use the iGPU when running my external monitor.
     
  8. ltorrelles macrumors newbie

    ltorrelles

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2012
    Location:
    Barcelona, Spain
    #8
    I had a mid 2012 15 inch retina, and I'm a video editor/content creator. I have an external monitor both at the office and at home. I use them pretty much all the time.

    I only run the integrated card when I'm watching a movie in bed, or want my battery to last for whatever reason, which isn't really that often.

    So, I'd say I'm using the dGPU about 90% of the time.

    The laptop will be 2 years old in a month, and it hasn't died on me just yet. I repasted both the CPU & GPU a couple of months ago, though.
     

Share This Page