Do you work at your dream job? if so, what is it?

Discussion in 'Community Discussion' started by jeremysteele, Mar 31, 2014.

1. jeremysteele, Mar 31, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014

jeremysteele macrumors 6502

Since I was 5 years old I knew I wanted to run a (hopefully large) software company. I never liked following - leading was appealing; and I've always had a love of software.

When I was 16/17 I started freelancing, and didn't goto college. I chugged out work for several years, gaining experience and friends. I landed my first "real" coding job about 1.5 years ago. Now I work as a lead dev for a startup, and run my own small software company on the side (weekend projects, for now)... so tantalizingly close to my "dream job".

Hopefully within a year or two that dream will become a reality.

So how about you guys... Do you work at your dream job, or are you still on the path (perhaps it is a hobby for now?) Have you given up on it completely?

2. \-V-/ Suspended

\-V-/

I'm currently studying for my dream job, but at 5 years old I was playing with Ninja Turtles, not dreaming of owning a software company. 0_o

3. jeremysteele, Mar 31, 2014
    Last edited: Mar 31, 2014

jeremysteele thread starter macrumors 6502

Cool!

I played games when I was 5 - and was incredibly fascinated by them, which got me into software. Used to play with game data in Resedit, try to break them, etc. A few weeks of that and I was hooked for life, and wanted to work on software.

Did a few accidental HDD reformats back in the day too - just trying to break apart games.

4. \-V-/ Suspended

\-V-/

My cousin did that when he was little and now he's a software engineer, so maybe it's not just a coincidence. :p

5. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Parking lot attendant at DisneyWorld.