Dock won't restart

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Chilling, Feb 11, 2009.

  1. Chilling macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #1
    Okay, I've just tried following this tutorial;
    Code:
    http://www.tuaw.com/2008/09/16/terminal-tips-add-recent-applications-as-a-stack-on-dock/
    After entering the Terminal command I restarted the dock using
    Code:
    killall Dock
    And apparently that was supposed to restart the dock, however it's killed mine and it will now not start at all. Any ideas on a Terminal command or other way(s) I can get my dock to show again?
     
  2. H$R macrumors 6502

    H$R

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #2
    Strange thing. Did you try a restart?

    Look in HDD > System > Library > CoreServices. Do you see a Dock.app there?

    What have you installed, or have you wanted to restart the dock in the first place?
     
  3. Chilling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #3
    Yeah I see Dock.app and already tried launching it, but it just looks like it's launching but doesn't actually appear.

    I installed a stack that shows recently launched apps, then ran killall Dock which is supposed to restart the dock, however it completely stopped mine without restarting it.
     
  4. H$R macrumors 6502

    H$R

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #4
    But did you already restart your Mac? That might could help you. Otherwise whe would have to look deeper but I am running out of ideas.
     
  5. Chilling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #5
    Yep, I've already restarted my Macbook a couple of times now.
     
  6. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #6
    Try running

    defaults delete com.apple.dock persistent-others

    Then launch Dock.app again.
     
  7. H$R macrumors 6502

    H$R

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #7
    Ok, I just got another idea. Go to: yourusername/Library/Preferences and then look for the "com.apple.dock.plist" Drag that file to your Desktop (for backup) and then go to again to the Terminal and type again "killall dock".

    This will give you back the standard com.apple.dock.plist file (the old could be corrupted becaue of your new stack. Though this way you have to put all your Applications back which you had before on the Dock)
     
  8. Chilling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #8
    You sir, are a true legend.

    As soon as I moved it, a fresh dock popped up like when you first boot up. I guess I shall be more careful next time I try using Terminal, although I'm not sure why my attempt at following the tutorial was unsuccessful.

    Thanks a lot :).
     
  9. H$R macrumors 6502

    H$R

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #9
    No problem, glad it fixed it fou you.

    I just remembered, that I once was messing with the Dock myself and that something also has corrupted the .plist file.

    I guess, you've done something wrong with your special stack, or the Dock didn't like that custom stack..who knows.
     
  10. BlueRevolution macrumors 603

    BlueRevolution

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2004
    Location:
    Montreal, QC
    #10
    The command I suggested would almost certainly have fixed the problem without affecting the remainder of the dock settings.
     
  11. H$R macrumors 6502

    H$R

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #11
    Might have.

    Now I have a lil problem: I actually tried what you've written: I've put wrote defaults delete com.apple.dock persistent-others into the Terminal. And when I now want do killall dock, it doesn't do it and gives me back this: "No matching processes belonging to you were found"

    How to fix it now?

    (I guess I should never touch a running system..:eek:)
     
  12. Chilling thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2008
    #12
    When running killall Dock it's important to make sure the D of Dock is capitalised.
     
  13. H$R macrumors 6502

    H$R

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2008
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #13
    Oh thanks!! I just thought, everything is still intact, and Activity Monitor can relaunch it..

    Silly me.
     

Share This Page