'DockPhone' Adds Phone Dialing to Yosemite, Bypassing FaceTime

Discussion in 'Mac Blog Discussion' started by MacRumors, Dec 22, 2014.

  1. MacRumors macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    DockPhone, a newly released Mac app, fixes a problem many OS X Yosemite users have faced in the months since the release of the new operating system: the inconvenience of opening FaceTime or Contacts to make a phone call on a Mac. With DockPhone app, users can now search for contacts or directly enter a number within the app, bypassing the need of opening FaceTime altogether.

    Though it was one of the major new Continuity features included in OS X Yosemite when it launched earlier this year, many users lamented needing to open FaceTime or Contacts to place phone calls from their desktops or laptops. Receiving calls was simple, but making them through the video chat app designed for a different purpose or cluttered Contacts app felt unintuitive.

    [​IMG]
    DockPhone lets users skip that step, offering a streamlined experience allowing users to easily enter a contact's name or specific phone number to start a phone call. The app interacts with FaceTime behind the scenes to connect with your iPhone, and finally get the call out to the person you dialed. As with making normal phone calls on a Mac, users still need OS X Yosemite on their Mac, an iPhone with iOS 8 or later, and both devices on the same Wi-Fi and iCloud accounts.

    While DockPhone is not the first app to offer such functionality, with others such as Keypad having launched some time ago, DockPhone uniquely allows users to also use their voice to begin phone calls. After clicking the microphone button, simply saying the name of a contact or reciting a phone number will begin a call. Recent contacts also appear in widget form in the Notification Center sidebar of your Mac screen, with quick-access prompts to contact them again.

    DockPhone is available for download from the Mac App Store for $0.99. [Direct Link]

    Article Link: 'DockPhone' Adds Phone Dialing to Yosemite, Bypassing FaceTime
     
  2. Bluethree macrumors regular

    Bluethree

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2010
    #2
    Seemed a good idea this..bought and downloaded....and keep getting a call fail
     
  3. ProwlingTiger macrumors 65816

    ProwlingTiger

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    #3
    I need to jailbreak my iPad to have something like this. Going into FaceTime even on the iPad ans not having a dedicated dialer is stupid.
     
  4. 3bs, Dec 22, 2014
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2014

    3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #4
    Something like this exists in Cydia?

    ----------

    This doesn't have a dial pad either? One reviewer said that and another can't get it to work like you.

    Do MacRumors test apps they post about?

    Edit: the Keypad app link doesn't work.

    Edit: Keypad link working now. Direct link if anyone wants to get it from MAS
     
  5. Supertaff macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2014
    #5
    does 't seem to work for me either, I can do face time and continuity calls no problem, but the app doesn't want to play. Thought initially it was because I had Microsoft Lync installed but even after changing setting on that it doesn't work.
     
  6. newagemac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
  7. Fondaparinux macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2013
    #7
    You know something's wrong when a third party app fixes a first party problem.
     
  8. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #8
    What do I have to do? I tried typing in "Call phone number" or just the phone number but neither showed up any results to make phone calls.
     
  9. Sangoma macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2012
    #9
    Why is it inconvenient to do this from Contacts or FaceTime? You still have to open an app.

    (I don't have an iPhone so I haven't tried)
     
  10. n-evo macrumors 65816

    n-evo

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2013
    Location:
    Amsterdam
    #10
    Of course it's extremely uncommon for third-parties to extend functionality of first-party products. We definitely didn't see that happening much throughout history.
     
  11. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #11
    I've tested it and it worked fine for me. It does not have a dial pad, which may be an issue for some people. Voice search is handy and worked for me as well.

    Continuity's phone call stuff can be buggy, so it may be hard to tell whether failures are due to DockPhone or Continuity. But calls have gone through ok for me in limited testing.
     
  12. Alon1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #12
    What I think he meant was (at least that's what I immediately thought when I saw this app, as well) is that you can open spotlight and type the contact's name. Their contact card will then pop up and you can hover over the phone number and click the phone symbol to dial. That's how I've been doing this for a while now.

    Doesn't solve the lack of dialer problem but at least you don't have to launch any app when you're dialing a contact.
     
  13. FieldingMellish Suspended

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    #13
    I can rest easy now that this new app is out.
     
  14. 3bs macrumors 603

    3bs

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    #14
    That's actually more than ok. I might just stick to that. Thanks!
     
  15. octothorpe8 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2014
    #15
    Anybody know if there's a way to do this with Alfred?
     
  16. shiftless macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2012
    #16
    Spotlight still tries to launch FaceTime.
    The dial pad by MAS does not.

    I find this useful.
     
  17. newagemac macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2010
    #17
    Just cmd+space to open spotlight and then type in the contact's name. Easy Peezy.

    ----------

    Yep, exactly what I meant. Why bother with a dialer? Spotlight is easier. Another really nice benefit of Yosemite. Not sure about Mavericks or earlier.
     
  18. Alon1 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2014
    #18
    My only gripe is that you can't enter phone numbers. Besides the convenience of being able to dial new numbers, it's also an issue when I call a number with an automated directory (for English press 1, etc. ). Gotta carry on the entire convo on your phone from that point on.

    Unless I'm missing something.
     
  19. 2457282 Suspended

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #19
    After thinking about it, I mostly call on my iphone by going to the contacts app and finding the person I want to call. If I need to dial a new number I go to the phone app and use the number pad to dial.

    In Yosimite, I do the same thing of going to the contact app and dialing selecting a contact. So for me there is no difference and it works fine. However, if I want to dial a new number going to facetime to do that is a little awkward. And if you have to press 1 for english (as someone posted earlier) it does not make sense. Forunately, I have not run accross that yet.

    For now I think yosimite is fine, but adding a dialer would be nice. Therefore an app that provided a dialer would be really great, but this one I think I can pass on.
     
  20. moonman239 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2009
    #20
    Needs a jailbreak? Why not just create an app that interacts with the FaceTime app?
     
  21. UKgaryb macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    #21
    They don't even need a dialler they could use spotlight, ala the calculator function; type a phone number in and Spotlight should be able to dial via continuity
     
  22. japanime macrumors 68000

    japanime

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Location:
    Japan
    #22
    Could you please explain a bit more about how extensively you tested the app before recommending it here? "Limited testing" sounds like you tried it once or twice.

    Thanks :)
     
  23. Nunyabinez macrumors 65816

    Nunyabinez

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    #23
    He didn't claim he did QA on it. Sheesh. Two people said it didn't work. He said it worked for him.
     
  24. Raffael (WAY) macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2015
    #24
    Hey guys,

    I'm one of the developers behind DockPhone. Many thanks for your thoughts about the app!

    We have received many support emails and iMessages (yes, we offer support via iMessage :)) with regards to "Call failed!" or similar issues while using DockPhone. We could help most of our users and wrote down some troubleshooting tips on our help page: http://www.weareyeah.com/DockPhone/help/

    If you need help as well, please get in contact with us, we'll find a solution! Check the help page for our iMessage / email address.
     
  25. limborocks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2011
    #25
    Really? Please share a screen shot.

    What people are complaining about is the inability to enter a NEW PHONE NUMBER to call. Not from contacts, not from facetime or webpages, which is what shows up in spotlight.

    I get so sick and tired of people posting crap for solutions that aren't valid, don't work, and they never tried, they just copied and pasted, THINKING it should work.

    When I see a screen shot of your famous "ala calculator function" dialing a "phone number", wait never mind. You can't do that...
     

Share This Page