Document and Download stacks help!

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by catraoine, Jan 6, 2009.

1. catraoine macrumors newbie

I am new to the MAC and was doing some desktop work. In my frenzy I somehow put the document and download stacks that were already on my desktop into the trash. I now have no idea how to retrieve the those two original folders (stacks). Does anyone know how/if I can get those back on my desktop from my trash? Do I need to take my computer to a genius bar?::eek:

2. iBookG4user macrumors 604

iBookG4user

Did you put the actual folders into the trash or did you remove them from the Dock? If the former, did you empty the trash? If the later, you can put them back on the Dock by going to your home folder "your name" on the Finder sidebar and then dragging the both folders onto the right side of the Dock.

3. richard.mac macrumors 603

richard.mac

it doesnt matter if you drag stacks off with the 'poof' animation or drag it into the trash, it only removes the stack which is an alias of the original folder so it doesnt delete your files.

just go to your home folder, highlight the Documents and Downloads folders and drag them to the right section of your Dock.

4. RobZ1 macrumors newbie

5. catraoine thread starter macrumors newbie

Huge help!!

Wonderful... Thanks for your help! I was able to retrieve the download and document stack folders and return them to my dock!