Does 2.0 make you reformat your iPod?

Discussion in 'iPod touch' started by nba1341, Jul 11, 2008.

  1. nba1341 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #1
    Ok so my mom just brought her iPhone over for me to add music too. Good thing I updated to 2.0 before adding any music because it made me it reformat itself deleting all the pictures and music (which there was none).



    So i was wondering if you buy the ipod touch 2.0 update do you have to also reformat like the iphone does?
     
  2. LeahM macrumors 6502a

    LeahM

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #2
    I kind of hope not... That would suck because I have music from different computers... and I finally made playlists. :)
     
  3. aethelbert macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Location:
    Chicago, IL, USA
    #3
    I'm sure that it will, seeing as it does on the iPhone.
     
  4. wingnut8 macrumors 65816

    wingnut8

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2007
    #4
    I hope not as well, the previous software update didnt.
     
  5. superman193 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2008
  6. PMB macrumors 65816

    PMB

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2007
    Location:
    New York
    #6
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPod; U; CPU iPhone OS 2_0 like Mac OS X; en-us) AppleWebKit/525.18.1 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/3.1.1 Mobile/5A345 Safari/525.20)

    didn't make me do it....
     
  7. nba1341 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
  8. sgtboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
  9. nba1341 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #9
    made you reformat ?


    oh god converting 2000 songs to AAC takes a long time
     
  10. sgtboy macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    #10
    Just makes backup and restore it in like 15 sec, most of the time is firmware updating



    edit : taking a while, thought it was done
     
  11. Pickoff macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Location:
    SoCal
    #11
    What it did for me is back it up, restore, then sync from the backup.
     
  12. JeffTL macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    #12
    Mine seemed to format...restoring my music right now.
     
  13. nba1341 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    #13
    so it backed up all the songs that were on your ipod to some file temporarily then threw them back on there?
     
  14. atomheartmother macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    #14
    To the OP: Yes. Depending upon how much media you have stored on your Touch, the whole process of downloading, updating firmware, and restoring your media could conceivably take up to maybe even an hour, if you have a lot. It seems that the last part of the process takes the longest.
     

Share This Page