Does 2011 MBP RAM work in a 2010 White MB?

Discussion in 'MacBook' started by dmk1974, Mar 1, 2013.

  1. dmk1974 macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #1
    Has anyone tried to use PC3-10600 DDR3 RAM in a 2010 White Unibody MacBook that uses PC3-8500 DDR3? I have heard that sometimes faster RAM can work but is just automatically clocked down. Thanks!
     
  2. Brian Y macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2012
    #2
    It should work fine, although as always with third party RAM, the machine itself can sometimes be quite fussy so may not take it.
     
  3. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #3
    The RAM I have is from a 2011 Mac Mini. Assuming it can be clocked down to run at the PC3-8500 speed, I'll probably try it out in the 2010 white MacBook. Just haven't gotten around to it just yet.
     
  4. dmk1974 thread starter macrumors 68000

    dmk1974

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    #4
    Also, if I do go ahead and order the proper PC3-8500 RAM for this 2010 MacBook, is there any harm or performance impact if I buy just a single 4 GB stick instead of two 2GB sticks? I figure if I buy the larger single 4 GB stick, I can always add another down the road if I find I need 8 GB. Thanks.
     
  5. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #5
    You lose dual channel speeds and accessing the RAM has a small delay if you only have one chip in. Honestly just upgrade to two chips. Don't bother with this piecemeal upgrade. You actually max out at 16GB on a 2010 MB.

    If you get a single 4GB chip it will be around $25. 2X4GB is around $52. 2X8GB is around $84. The 8GB chips will continue to drop and can be had at great deals if you wait for the right time to buy.
     
  6. dazcox5181 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2005
    #6
    Just got a 2010 white MacBook off eBay in perfect condition for £265! Came with 2GB thought I'd try the ram from my dell XPS which is ddr3 but 1333 speed - didn't work just got the single beep at startup.
    Thought I'd get the proper pc3 8500 1066 ram so got some PNY 4GB from pcworld. Doesn't work either.
    With the new ram in one slot and one if the original sticks it boots and recognises 5GB ram, am I right in think this is because the PNY ram probably actually works at 1333 but they change the packaging? The old ram causes jt to clock down to 1066. A pc laptop isn't phased by it - it works in the dell, but how can I get ram that is definitely going to work? Will try to return or exchange the ram later but don't think they'll be happy for me to keep opening and returning it!
    I'm in UK, so need quick UK source of working ram!
     
  7. brop52 macrumors 68000

    brop52

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Location:
    Michigan
    #7
    PNY isn't reliable even if it is the right RAM. Maybe the MB is just more sensitive (and is not designed for 1333MHz RAM while the Dell is).

    Maybe try ebay? This one might work. For whatever reason crucial doesn't carry your RAM.
     

Share This Page