Does 3.1.2 fix Cydia Errors on 3GS?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by Enigmafan420, Oct 16, 2009.

  1. Enigmafan420 macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #1
    Been having weird issues with Cydia last month or so. See: http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=781568


    Wondering if anyone can comment on whether or not 3.1.2 fixes this problem?

    Also, does the issue with no Carrier logo still exist in 3.1.2?

    WHAT ARE the benefits of 3.1.2? Seems like most reviews I have read say stick with 3.01.

    Thanks as always :)
     
  2. wingsabr macrumors 6502

    wingsabr

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    #2
    The only time I had any cydia errors was when 3.1.2 JB came out last Sunday. The servers were getting hit pretty hard so I can understand that. The biggest difference for me was using devteam custom IPSW vs. blackra1n. For some reason the devteam JB "seemed" less troublesome in as far as having just random stuff happen like resprings. My wife is also JB 3.1.2 and has had no problems to speak of...
     
  3. California King macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    #3
    Did you install Icy along with Cydia? I know I ran into a bunch of problems when I did that. I'm on 3.1.2 and there's absolutely no problems with cydia. Also, carrier logo is still gone, but just install "Make it mine" in cydia and type in "AT&T" and it'll look almost identical to the real carrier logo.
     
  4. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #4
    I have not yet upgraded to 3.1.2.

    And I will not use Icy-I try to stay away from Rip-Dev. I also need the unlock so I can't use blackra1n.

    I understand with the old baseband, there is a missing carrier logo and also I am just in general wondering if I need 3.1 for ANYTHING?

    Other than my Cydia being weird, and Rupert Gee repository not working on my 3GS but working FINE on my wife's 3G, 3.01 seems fine.

    Just trying to figure if it is worth the jump.
     
  5. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #5
    So I finally installed 3.1.2 today using blackra1n, which by the way is the best ever-thanks GeoHot.

    And I STILL am getting the friggin Cydia repository errors-MADDENING. I assumed that a new firmware and JB would fix this. Anyone got a solution to this issue?

    Thanks!
     
  6. wRek macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Location:
    WA state.
    #6
    I re-jailbroke my 16gb 3gs using PwnageTool on 3.1.2 and have had absolutely no problems with it. My carrier symbol showed up fine from the beginning and I have since also added a custom at&t carrier logo.

    Maybe give PwnageTool a try?
     
  7. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #7
    Used pwnage tool on my wife's 3G-and the carrier logo thing was an issue.

    pwntage tool ship has sailed for me. I have the new baseband and require the unlock, so for now, it is blackra1n.

    The problem existed before 3.1.X though, I have had Cydia issues for at least a month now. Check out the earlier posts here. I guess I was hoping 3.1.2 would fix them but it did not.

    PS-Shout out to GeoHot-easiest JB ever. Now is the time to donate, I did, and WOULD to dev team too if they would accept.
     
  8. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #8
    Since you have been looking at the bad source popup for a month, you should know which one it is.

    Get rid of troublesome Cydia source

    To remove the repo is easy but i don't think thats the problem

    Remove Cydia Sources through SSH

    If you added a source that causes Cydia to crash, this is the thread for you. This will help you remove the buggy source you added.

    You will need an ftp/sftp client. [WinSCP for Windows/Cyberduck for Mac]

    1. SSH into your iPhone/iPod, hopefully you know how to do that.

    2. Go to the root of your iPhone/iPod [/].

    3. Navigate to /etc/apt/sources.list.d/cydia.list

    4. Download the Cydia.list to your computer and open it using any text editor.

    5. Delete the source you added. For example, "deb http://www.iphone.org.hk/apt/ ./" if this is the source you want to delete, simply delete that one line. NOT THE WHOLE DOCUMENT. Make sure you save the document as is. We are NOT adding any extensions.

    6. Drag the saved document into the sources.list.d folder and replace the file.

    7. Re-spring.

    You can also go into the phone and pull out all of the Cydia repo databases which make Cydia reload all of the repo databases completely the next time, so if a database is corrupt, it should fix that.
     
  9. TheMacBookPro macrumors 68020

    TheMacBookPro

    Joined:
    May 9, 2008
    #9
    If you using Make it mine and type 'AT&T' it will appear bigger/blurry and out of line with the rest of the text/icons (1 pixel off... hmm?). If you type in 'ATT' it will show a crisper and clearer AT&T logo (like what you would normally get with an AT&T sim inserted).

    There's an 'ATT.jpg' file inside the filesystem and that's 'activated' when ATT appears as the carrier to the phone.
     
  10. Enigmafan420 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Enigmafan420

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2008
    Location:
    Puget Sound, U.S.A.
    #10
    I was ALMOST ready to do all this and then I remembered that I had used Aptbackup to restore all my Cydia stuff after the 3.1.2 install. This meant that I had all my old repositories installed.

    So I did a one-by-one restore (WHAT A PAIN!!) and determined that is was some obscure Cydia repository. I think it is the "Winterboarder" repository that was causing the issue.

    Not sure if uninstalling the repositories one by one would have helped, but I am now at 3.1.2, jailbroke and unlocked (thanks again GeoHot!) and am happy!
     
  11. dhlizard macrumors G4

    dhlizard

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2009
    Location:
    The Jailbreak Community
    #11
    All this that you refer to only takes about 2-3 minutes, then reboot/respring.
     

Share This Page