Does 4G sign appear on other worldwide carriers?

Discussion in 'iOS 5 and earlier' started by apollo1444, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. apollo1444 macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2011
    Location:
    mexico
    #1
    pretty much topic question? so does it show up? I'm talking about international HSPA+ carriers do you have the 4G branding? or this only happens with att?
     
  2. Patrick J macrumors 65816

    Patrick J

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Location:
    Oporto, Portugal
    #2
    Apple's Press Release doesn't really give up much:
    from the Verge

    You could interpret that as being available to any carrier that sells "4G", or only to AT&T as specified, which would depend on the context of the original question.
     
  3. jonnyb macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    I'm still getting 3G on the Three network in the UK, who utilise HSPA+. I won't be pleased if this changes. The definition of 4G in Europe is quite strict so I think they would be censured if they did this.
     
  4. AlphaVictor87 macrumors 6502a

    AlphaVictor87

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Location:
    Saint Louis, MO
    #4
    No because this specifically was in the 5.1 release notes "Updated AT&T network indicator"

    So it would only be on AT&T
     
  5. monksealpup macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2009
    Location:
    Honolulu, HI, USA
    #5
    It's just a marketing gimmick for AT&T so they can claim 4G and hope consumers don't notice that Verizon's 4G LTE is quite a bit different (the added LTE part). Basically marketing is lying to you (as always).
     
  6. k3roro macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
  7. Tom G. macrumors 68000

    Tom G.

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Location:
    Champaign/Urbana Illinois
    #7
    It shows up on my phone in Champaign, IL USA. I don't know if I really have 4G or not, but it says that I do. My 3gs phone said 3G before we really had it. That is why I am skeptical.
     
  8. adder7712 macrumors 68000

    adder7712

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    I don't think anyone should promote HSPA+ (not DC-HSPA) as "4G". So far, in this country WiMAX is marketed as 4G but not HSPA+ and DC-HSPA.

    My network has HSPA+ and they are still referring it as 3G, and rightly so. On iPhones, it's still showing "3G".
     
  9. guineapig macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Location:
    Italy
    #9
    TIM in Italy. Never seen 4G so far (I don't think I will).
     

Share This Page