Does Airport Extreme 802.11n use AES for WPA by default?

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by JoelMarcey, Aug 28, 2009.

  1. JoelMarcey macrumors 6502

    JoelMarcey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #1
    I have my Airport Extreme 802.11n set to use WPA/WPA2 security.

    I see no way to see or change the protocol settings.

    Does the Airport Extreme 802.11n use AES by default? Or does it use something like TKIP for WPA?
     
  2. elgrecomac macrumors 65816

    elgrecomac

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2008
    Location:
    San Diego
    #2
    First of all YOU CAN change change the type of encryption to WEP, WPA, or WPA2 or even ...None. To do this, go into the Airport Utility, click on the AES, click on MANUAL SETUP. this will bring you to the AES Summary page.
    Now, move the cursor/arrow to the words 'Wireless Security", then click on the words. A secondary menu will appear. On this menu there is a pull down option list for 'Wireless Security'. Make your choice.

    Good luck.
     
  3. JoelMarcey thread starter macrumors 6502

    JoelMarcey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #3
    Sorry, I think I misstated my question. I know how to change the wireless security. But with any wireless security option, there is an associated protocol or algorithm. TKIP, AES, etc.

    I am wondering what protocol/algorithm the Airport Extreme 802.11n uses for its WPA security setting.
     
  4. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #4
    your original question was perfectly clear.

    you probably read the same article i did. it does say wpa2 is still safe.
    WPA2 is designed with AES (and not TKIP) wiki

    I have an express (N version about 1 1/2 years old) and the only options i have are for WPA2 personal and enterprise.
    I don't know what the settings on the extreme look like, but at the very least, you should be able to select WPA2
     
  5. JoelMarcey thread starter macrumors 6502

    JoelMarcey

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2009
    Location:
    Northern California
    #5
    Yep. Same article :)

    I know that WPA2 is fine. But for compatibility reasons with other computers, I need to choose WPA/WPA2 as my security setting. I didn't know if that was safe for the Airport Extreme 802.11n.
     
  6. SqB macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Location:
    Northern Colorado
    #6
    you should check with the manufacturers of the other computers /network cards to determine if they have driver/firmware updates available. i doubt anyone is going to crack WPA completely in the next few days but it would still be good to move up to the more secure encryption.
     

Share This Page