Does an external VGA or DVA monitor drain cpu on a black macbook?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by kid606, Jul 3, 2007.

  1. kid606 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    #1
    i want to start using an external monitor with my black macbook (first generation)

    basically i want to know if external monitors drain cpu usage or if the laptops are setup to handle them (maybe only up to a certain size?)

    also, if they do task the processor, which one would put less of a drain, a vga or a dva?

    many, many thanks in advance, i can't wait to start using an external monitor, i just need to know which adaptor and monitor i should buy first!
     
  2. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #2
    Running an external monitor won't use up any CPU at all. If the screen is large it might make Expose run less smoothly, but that's about it. Certainly nothing to worry about. I have an external 20 WS Samsung.

    A VGA or DVI monitor should do you just fine.
     
  3. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3
    it will drain your battery like a ferrari v29. but not ur cpu no, thats all done by the gpu u wont notice a thing... wiht my mbp running on battery sometimes i get about 1 min per %, my battery has been replaced im not sure how it performs now...maybe 2mins per % :D (partay!!!!)
     
  4. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    I haven't noticed that at all. My MacBook runs for several hours with an external monitor connected, as long as the the internal is shut off with the brightness controls.
     
  5. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    is your monitor DVI-I or DVI-D?? mine is a DVI-D, dual link which i think drags more power... or it could be that im using extemded desktop.. one or the other
     
  6. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #6
    I run a DVI-I extended desktop, so its understandable that your MBP would suck up more juice.
     
  7. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    aahhh makes sense... nice name btw, awsome band!!
     
  8. kwood macrumors 6502a

    kwood

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2006
    Location:
    In the Great White North.
    #8
    The MacBook's mini-DVI port is only a single link DVI port. So I don't think it would make a difference whether or not the Monitor is a dual or a single. The MacBook can do a maximum external resolution of 1920 x 1200. The monitor would be limited to that.
     
  9. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Right. So only difference for the OP is wether or not he wants to drive the displays in mirrored or extended mode, and wether or not he will be running off the adapter. In any case; adding a monitor to my setup was a real productivity booster, and didn't impact performance at all.

    Thanks DoFoT9. :D
     
  10. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #10
    No drain on your CPU, but the VRAM will be split in half between both screens. :)
     
  11. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #11
    haha thats ok you canadians are cool

    oh i always wondered how that would work. 256mb doesnt seem that big nemore....only 128 per each monitor *SHOCK HORROR*
     
  12. dmw007 macrumors G4

    dmw007

    Joined:
    May 26, 2005
    Location:
    Working for MI-6
    #12

    Not sure if it would have an effect on performance or not. Running the computer with the lid closed is probably the best option for gaming though. :)
     
  13. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #13
    oh really... i wonder if windows does the same kind of thing... i get quite good framerates with 2 monitors (cough cough *overclock* /cough cough)
     
  14. Fleetwood Mac macrumors 65816

    Fleetwood Mac

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #14
    There be your battery woes. :D
     
  15. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #15
    hahahaha actually i dont overclock when running off battery, i take it out and run off power. when the batteryies out it takes the temp down like 10°C aswell.... iwierdz
     
  16. john2006wright macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2007
    Location:
    UK
    #16
    If i were to run a macbook as a desktop for a while would you recommend remoing the battery and running from the mains power supply? I didn't know that was possible?

    Thanks
     
  17. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #17
    yes id highly recommend it. you can take the battery out whenever you want. but id suggest making sure power is plugged in so that you dont loose all your work and have to power back up again!!!!!!! and dont take the battery out whilst its sleeping, unless its in deep sleep.
     
  18. kanketsu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #18
    Sorry for jumping in.. :D

    Is it true that leaving the battery out will make the macbook run significantly slower? I think I've read it somewhere in this forum.. about leaving it functions with single core or something? :confused:
     
  19. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #19
    yeap i read that thread. turned out that in the energy saver it when it was on power it was "Better Energy Savings" (see attached image)

    lol btw ur entitled to bump in!!!! no1 controls these forums...cept those moderators :p
     

    Attached Files:

  20. kanketsu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #20
    hmm.. I didn't catch your point. sorry :)
    Is it by showing me the attached image, you were trying to point that the macbook was not, or even unable to, run on its maximum performance with its battery being left out?
     
  21. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #21
    oh im sorry... the person that was using the computer left it on that minial setting....they hadnt realised that it was on "better bettery settings".

    of course, after you change it to "better perfomace" everything goes back to normal.. your full powered mac!!!!!mwahaha
     
  22. kanketsu macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2007
    #22
    Ah, I see. In other words, the whole performance-drop-because-of-missing-battery was just a rumor; the "drop" actually happened because he/ she set it to be that way, and not because the battery was taken out, right?

    Glad to hear that :D
     
  23. DoFoT9 macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #23
    hahaha yup the n00b user...typical tsktsktsk. lol nah. yea its all sweet
     

Share This Page