Does Anybody Else Bring Their Mac Pro With Them?

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by Zwhaler, Sep 15, 2011.

1. Zwhaler macrumors 603

Zwhaler

What I mean by that is, if you have work to do on your computer, do you physically pack the machine into it's box (screen keyboard mouse.. no speakers) load it into your trunk and drive to your destination and them unpack it, use it and then pack it away to bring back home? I fancy using the word "Pro" in the context of a person who actually uses their Mac Pro to do work (which many of us do). I just wonder if I'm the only one that does that? I only do it because I get great results, meaning more work done in less time.

2. appleguy123 macrumors 603

appleguy123

No, and it seems weird. Can't you use a laptop on the field? Why take a 41 pound computer?

3. AlteMac macrumors regular

AlteMac

4. derbothaus macrumors 601

derbothaus

That's pretty baller. I mean when I was a touring musician I took my Ampeg SVT and 8x10 cabinet everywhere but that got tiresome unless there was a roadie. Maybe you need a roadie? The new MBP's can do a lot and if you own a business it's hard to pass up the write-off. Get SSD and 750GB HDD in DVD sled and you have a 3.2GHz Mac Pro in your bag:) No back strain.

5. hayduke macrumors 65816

hayduke

Nope never. I had to lug it to the Apple store once and that was a pain!

6. FluJunkie macrumors 6502a

Nope. I take a laptop and SSH in if I need the Pro's firepower.

7. Garen macrumors regular

Garen

Well I just loved it so much that I bought 2 one for home and one for work and a MBP for in between:D

Garen:)

8. Zwhaler thread starter macrumors 603

Zwhaler

The thing is I have a 15" 2.66 i7 from 2010, but I need the Mac Pro for the FCP X power also because it has all of my video stored on it, internal storage was always the biggest issue with the laptop. I haven't been moving my computer much lately, but I'll probably need to again soon :apple:

9. Nermal Moderator

Nermal

Staff Member