Does anyone else this should be included with DSLR cameras.

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by jdl8422, Jul 7, 2009.

  1. jdl8422 macrumors 6502

    jdl8422

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Location:
    Louisiana
    #1
    Does anyone else think it is a good idea to have an extra SD slot on a camera for a spare memory card? Doesnt have to be functional, just hold the card. Just a thought
     
  2. thegoldenmackid macrumors 604

    thegoldenmackid

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Location:
    dallas, texas
    #2
    You could easily stick it in your pocket? Why would they make a non-functional slot. Canon would get 50 calls an hour from people wondering why their SD card isn't being recognized but "it's in." Non-functioning anything seems pretty self-explanatory.
     
  3. NoSmokingBandit macrumors 68000

    NoSmokingBandit

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    #3
    If you are using a dslr you will most likely be carrying a bag with you, so it wouldnt make more sense to cram more inside the body when you can keep it in a pocket of your bag.
     
  4. Clix Pix macrumors demi-goddess

    Clix Pix

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2005
    Location:
    8 miles from the Apple Store at Tysons (VA)
    #4
    No. That said, I definitely DO appreciate the active dual CF card slots on my Nikon D3!
     
  5. MikhailT macrumors 601

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2007
    #5
    Most people carry the camera inside a bag, those almost always hold extra memory cards for you. So no it isn't really that good of an idea.
     
  6. jampat macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    #6
    If you ever get a chance to open a DSLR and look inside you will be amazed to see how tight everything is packed in their already. Some of the larger bodies have two functional card slots which provides some benefit (can do jpg on one card, raw on the other for instance), but space is at a huge premium. If people don't have enough room to carry a spare card, it is unlikely they will bother carrying a DSLR. If size is really important, nothing beats a PnS.
     
  7. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    How often do you change cards? It takes me a long time to fill up one and need to swap. So if there were a spare in the camera I'd save what? about 3 seconds twice a day.

    I think there was a camera (forgot which it was) that took both SD and CF cards. Different reason for having two slots.
     
  8. rouxeny macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
  9. jbernie macrumors 6502a

    jbernie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #9
    my Fuji FinePix S602 takes smartmedia in one slot and CFII/Microdrives in the other slot. This was from around 2003 so they may have done both to cover bases in case one format took off more than the other etc.

    If I was going to get a camera with a 2nd slot, I would want it to be active like it is on the Canon 1D models etc, if it isnt active it really is just a waste, especially with 8GB & 16GB cards etc on the market and the fact that weight & size wise they are really nothing to carry.
     

Share This Page