Does anyone know how to remove songs from an iPod (30 Gig)?

Discussion in 'iPod' started by Captain Planet, Aug 6, 2008.

  1. Captain Planet macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hi, I wanted to clean up my current list of songs and decided to delete my iTunes library. Now, after I did so, I tried to sync my iPod thinking it would also delete the songs on it (the iPod). So now, I have an empty iTunes library, but I still have all of my songs on my iPod. Can anyone tell me how I can remove songs from my iPod? It would be much appreciated.
     
  2. Mikey- macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    England
    #2
    Plug your iPod into your computer and open iTunes. When you're on the summary tab click the music tab and uncheck the "sync all music" button.

    It should wipe all your music off.
     
  3. Captain Planet thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Ok, I did what you told me. And I got the message on iTunes saying something about losing the songs on it... then I disconnected my iPod, unplugged it. But I still have my songs. Did I do something wrong?
     
  4. Captain Planet thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #4
    Still no luck... :( does anyone know what I could be doing wrong?
     
  5. swiftaw macrumors 603

    swiftaw

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Location:
    Omaha, NE, USA
    #5
    Why not just connect it to iTunes, and hit Restore. This would wipe the iPod.
     
  6. xlii macrumors 68000

    xlii

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2006
    Location:
    Millis, Massachusetts
    #6
    Is the iPods hold button on? In the previous message when it gave you the warning about losing all your songs if you sync... did you tell it to go ahead and sync or did you hit the cancel button?
     
  7. Captain Planet thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    Oh... I never actually thought of that. I thought it was just for like settings you had on it or whatever. Well, I might as well give it a try. I'll feel dumb if it works. :p
     
  8. Captain Planet thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    Oh don't worry, I didn't hit cancel.
     
  9. Captain Planet thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Captain Planet

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Location:
    Canada

Share This Page