Does anyone use SolidWorks on a MBP?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by ModusPwnin', Nov 25, 2016.

  1. ModusPwnin' macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    #1
    If so, do you use Parallels or Boot Camp? And what configuration machine do you have (processor, RAM, etc.)? I'm hoping to run SolidWorks through Parallels on a non-touch 2016 13in MBP (i5/16gb). Will I be disappointed?
     
  2. btbam91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    #2
    Get a Windows machine.
     
  3. fate0311 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    #3
    God you people are so ****ing stupid. Do you even know what your commenting about?

    SW will run on a ****ing **** laptop from 2009 as long as your not rendering/simulating.
     
  4. btbam91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    #4
    As a mechanical and aerospace engineering graduate, yes, yes I do.
     
  5. fate0311 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    #5
    Are you sure it was a BSME and not an Associates?
     
  6. btbam91 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    #6
    Boeing wouldn't have hired me.... BSME and MSAE.
     
  7. fate0311 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
  8. ModusPwnin' thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2016
    #8
    So... Boot Camp? ;)
     
  9. fate0311 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    #9
    Just be careful with the rate Apple is going your laptop may light on fire from installing BootCamp.
     
  10. wrajr macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    #10
    Just upgraded from late 2013 MBP 15 to 2016 MBP 15 TB 460, run Solidworks and SolidCAM under Parallels and it's a huge improvement. Graphics are fluid and simulations are very acceptable. Just remember to patch registry to enable hardware OPEN GL (see Parallels forum).
     
  11. khabboub macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Location:
    Tampa
    #11
    I am an ME. I sun SW in boot camp on my late 2013. It's alright. I imagine the new rmbp will be way better though. The 750m in my laptop was barely okay back in the day. Do the new ones should be a big step forward.

    Also parallels is really bad on my machine. I can only render very simple things. Not to many mates or components.
     
  12. Pootmatoot macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2014
    #12
    It depends how complex you're going (and how/if you're rendering.

    I had the 2012 version running usably on a 2013 Air via Bootcamp.
     
  13. dallas112678 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2008
    #13
    Aren't you the guy who asked if a 13" is suitable for spread sheets? No wonder we had such a horrible financial crisis not too long ago.

    Oh, I'm also an aerospace engineer.
     
  14. jsawy3r macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2014
    #14
    Knowing Goldman there is about a 0% chance you'd be using a personal computer, let alone a Mac. Nice try?



    I used a 2012 rMBP for ME in school with Bootcamp and parallels and it worked well enough.

    Keep in mind that SW pretty much uses a single core for many things, so the higher clocked processor may actually help. If you want Real you can find some hacks that either use a GUI or registry edits. If you don't hack a lot of the graphics rendering will be done on the CPU and not the GPU.

    If only MBPs used actually "Pro" cards...
     
  15. fate0311 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2015
    #15
    A lot of wall street cats use macs back home.
     

Share This Page