Does Apple Care Cover Labor Costs For Upgrades?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by dissdnt, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. dissdnt macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007
    #1
    I was thinking of adding another 2 gigs of ram to my MacBook Pro. Does Applecare cover any of those costs if I go through Apple?
     
  2. macgrl macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
  3. madog macrumors 65816

    madog

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2004
    Location:
    Korova Milkbar
    #3
    Apple will not help pay for any upgrades, nor can you at any point upgrade a part that is being replaced. For example, if they are replacing a broken HDD, you can not pay to have them install a larger HDD while the product is under APP.


    Also, even though there is no Apple 'branded' RAM (just Apple 'labeled' or authorized), if you upgrade the RAM (say, from a cheap third-party) and it fries your logic board (not very likely, but possible), it won't be covered. That's not to say if anything happens, you can't swap back in the original sticks that came in your computer. Or, if you upgrade the HDD, to replace it with the original if you take it in for service.


    Furthermore, Apple charges a ridiculous amount for their RAM, and they know it. Get it from a well known third-party (especially if you have the new Unibody).
     
  4. snowmoon macrumors 6502a

    snowmoon

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Location:
    Albany, NY
    #4
    Call your local Apple Store, I would think if you bought the ram from Apple they would install it with an appointment. You may be without the computer for a few days, but at those markups I would expect that kind of treatment.
     
  5. TheIguana macrumors 6502a

    TheIguana

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2004
    Location:
    Canada
    #5
    Not to be rude, but why do you need an Apple service tech to install something that Apple clearly labels as user-upgradable?
     
  6. alphaod macrumors Core

    alphaod

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Location:
    NYC
    #6
    If the buy the RAM from Apple they will install it for you; otherwise it is not covered.
     
  7. jordan eff macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    #7
    I asked an apple genius this a few times

    they claim that if I buy RAM from crucial and it causes my computer to break then they will fix it if it is still under warranty because they say that I can upgrade it myself they will still cover it, I clarified this with a few of the employees just to make sure it wasn't just one that was telling me this
     
  8. dissdnt thread starter macrumors 65816

    dissdnt

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2007

Share This Page