Does Apple stand by its products?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by kuntryklucker, Nov 22, 2013.

1. kuntryklucker macrumors member

kuntryklucker

Hi All,

I am fairly new to Mac, in fact I bought my first macbook pro a few weeks ago. Anyway, I am writing this post because I am having some problems with my macbook. I called applecare yesterday, they said that my hard drive has crashed. I have had the computer for almost 3 weeks, how can that happend. I bought a mac because they are the cream of the crop and the best and now I cannot even use a 18 day old machine. :mad:

I am going to the apple store today, I am very nervous because I am afraid that I am going to just be stuck with a machine that does not work.

Has anyone had experience with a troublesome machine, how did Apple take care of you? Did they stand by their product and reputation?

Thanks

2. maflynn Moderator

maflynn

Staff Member

Apple has excellent customer support and I think you'll be pleasantly surprised :)

While they do make high quality products, things do happen and like any product, its made by imperfect human beings and sometimes a defective unit does slip through the cracks.

3. tobeornottobe macrumors regular

That's fine, when I bought my first Mac the 'w' key for my keyboard didn't work. They replaced it with a new one. I was shocked at first but delighted after.

4. r0k macrumors 68040

r0k

Apple is the best in the industry when it comes to customer care. There are a few isolated cases of not getting the best service. If you are unsatisfied with any aspect of your service, do not hesitate to ask for a manager.

There is not much Apple can do about a crashed hard drive other than install a new hard drive for you and give you the machine back. I recommend picking up a small usb, firewire or thunderbolt external drive and make yourself a Time Machine backup immediately. Even if you've only had the machine for 3 weeks, you should never ever be faced with losing data.