Does ATT iPhone 6S Plus work on Sprint?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by bad1550, Nov 29, 2015.

  1. bad1550 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    #1
    I unlocked my AT&T iPhone 6S Plus today to bring my own device to Sprint.
    Went to the Apple Store for a Sprint Sim and the Sprint store can not activate service.

    Has anyone switched from AT&T to Sprint with iPhone 6S Plus?

    Any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #2
    Make sure you have the right SIM. Sprint treats SIM cards as repair parts (the SIM usually stays with the device and thus they have multiple SIM SKU numbers). Here's the info for what you need: Unlocked iPhone 6, 6 Plus, 6S, and 6S Plus
    Sprint Part #SIMGLW436C
    SKU - CZ2134LWC
    UPC - 760492031912

    Next, have customer service file a ticket to whitelist your device. It won't activate if it's not whitelisted in Sprint's database.

    Lastly, you will not get 3G on Sprint. You have a GSM device and Sprint is CDMA. But if your phone is capable of LTE Bands 25, 26 and/or band 41 you should get LTE.
     
  3. rambo47 macrumors 6502a

    rambo47

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Location:
    Denville, NJ
    #3
    I don't think Sprint will activate a device they did not sell themselves, even if it's compatible with their network. Verizon used to be the same way but recently started activating compatible non-Verizon phones. It's a short list of compatible phones though. What Sprint will do is offer you money to switch and trade in your current phone. You might be able to get a new iPhone 6s Plus without having to lay out any cash as long as you sign a 2-year deal with Sprint.
     
  4. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #4
    They are getting more lenient on that. Last year I would have agreed with you, but now it's just getting them to file a ticket to whitelist the IMEI.
     
  5. bad1550 thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    #5
    Thanks for all the help. I will try to get a ticket processed
     
  6. solodogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #6
    you are correct on everything but this last part. The AT&T 6S and 6S+ both have CDMA radios, as do the 6 and 6+, and both will function fine on 1x and 3G with both Sprint and Verizon.

    I have previously activated Verizon service on my AT&T phone, and successfully used data and placed phone calls with LTE disabled on both my AT&T 6 and 6S devices. I have not been able to successfully get Sprint to whitelist the 6S though.
     
  7. chrfr macrumors 603

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2009
    #7
    3G will work on Sprint or Verizon just fine with an unlocked AT&T phone. The AT&T 6s/6s+ is the same device as what Apple sells as SIM-free and supports both CDMA and GSM.
    Solodogg beat me to it on this one as I was typing.
     
  8. eyoungren macrumors P6

    eyoungren

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2011
    Location:
    Phoenix • 85037
    #8
    Cool! Glad to be wrong in this instance. Thanks for the info both of you!
     
  9. solodogg macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2011
    #9
    don't be too glad too soon...Sprint still won't whitelist the devices. They have added the Verizon 6 to their compatible device list, but it's still a PITA to get a ticket entered to whitelist the device. Unfortunately, the only 6s they will activate currently is the Sprint model, making the half price plans absolutely worthless for anyone that doesn't already have a SIM-free or Sprint device.
     

Share This Page