does ATV remote have to work in order to set up iphone remote?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by scott911, May 16, 2011.

  1. scott911 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #1
    Hi - I have any origional apple TV, and either the origional white remote or the IR reciever in the apple TV appears to have gone bad.

    So I want to use my iphone / ipad to act as the remote with the remote app, BUT when the tiny remote broke, I didn't have the other devices "connected." :(

    Am I correct that in order to set up the old apple tv to work with the remote app, that I would first have to use a working origional remote in order to navigate the apply TV to the correct set up screen?

    If so, it may be that I'm out of luck!
    Thanks for your help forum.
     
  2. dynaflash macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #2
    try it, its not like remote.app costs anything. You should know within a few minutes.
     
  3. scott911 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #3
    I actually have the app (and have used it before)

    - I was fiddling with it, and couldn't get it to work. I seem to remember having to go to a setting screen in appletv interface (which you'd need the origioanl remote to navigate too) and keying in four characters. But that was a while ago and I don't recall details - or if there's an alternative way to set it up.

    If anyone can actually help, I'd appreciate it! :eek:
     
  4. jsm4182 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2006
    Location:
    Beacon, NY
    #4
    You should only have to do that once to set it up initially, it should work automatically after that. Unless the phone or Apple TV were reset to factory settings.
     
  5. waw74 macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    #5
    to test the remote, point it at anything with a digital camera (iPhone, iSight built into your mac, even just a digital camera as long as it has a screen) and press a button, you will see a blinking light in that camera.
    depending on how old your remote is, you may just need a battery. (accessed by using a paper clip or similar on the button on the end of the remote opposite the black end)
     
  6. eTip macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    #6
    Some (many?) universal remotes can be programmed to operate the Apple TV. Also, the little white remotes are pretty cheap on eBay.
     
  7. scott911 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2009
    #7
    Thanks for the tips guys.

    I ended up ordering a ATV2 a few minutes ago as my old roommate (who I haven't seen in about a decade) and I want to ensure my HT works!

    It'll be nice to get the old ATV working for a bedroom using your hints and tips though... many thanks!
     

Share This Page