Does Boot Camp via Parallels Desktop work?

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by maestrokev, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. maestrokev macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Posted this on the Parallels forum but didn't get much response, hoping more people here have input.

    Hi, sorry if this has been discussed ad nauseum but I've searched through many posts and the more I read the more confused I am. Many of the posters don't mention if they're running latest version of Parallels (2.5.3188) and OS X (10.4.9) with Boot Camp 1.2 and recent Apple hardware so I'm not sure if the problems have been resolved yet.

    I'm a long-time Windows user with a new MBP 2.16 C2D notebook with 2GB RAM running OS X 10.4.9. Just bought Windows XP Pro SP2 OEM CD.

    I'm trying to determine whether I should run Parallels via Boot Camp partition (have not setup yet) or run as new VM.

    I like the option of being able to use XP natively via BootCamp (easier to maintain one copy of XP and run graphics intensive video-rendering software) so I'm inclined to go this route and point Parallels at my Boot Camp partition BUT:

    1. Does v.2.5.3188 work properly pointed at BC partition? Read reports of XP OS corruption and other issues.

    2. Do you need to reactivate Windows XP a 2nd time in Parallels after initial Boot Camp install of WinXP? I've read various reports of Microsoft not liking people reactivating 2nd, 3rd time etc even if on same machine (and I assume I'll have to do this if XP crashes under Boot Camp or Parallels and I have to keep reinstalling)

    3. How long does it take before you can logon to XP when Parallels is using Boot Camp? Some people have stated it takes over 4min which is longer than booting XP on my regular Windows machine! This would indicate an advantage to not running Parallels via Boot Camp as I understand Parallels via VM is much faster to load.

    4. Any other performance related reason why it's better to not point Parallels at Boot Camp copy of WinXP?

    If the Parallels via Boot Camp option isn't stable then I'll have to install XP as VM.

    Thanks in advance for your input.
     
  2. M@lew macrumors 68000

    M@lew

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    #2
    You can run your Boot Camp partition with Parallels fine, just no 3D support.
     
  3. maestrokev thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Thanks for your reply. Does it take a long time to start Windows when pointing Parallels at BC partition vs using VM?
     
  4. kingofkolt macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #4
    Pretty sure the just-released version of Parallels now comes with 3D support. I saw screenshots somewhere of Quake 3 being played on Parallels.
     
  5. CyberPrey macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Location:
    IGH, MN
    #5

    That is the screenshots of the BETA-v3 of Parallels. The current version does not support 3d, however they are saying the new version should be out shortly. personally, I am looking forward to it :)
     
  6. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #6
    A year is a long time to expect a free upgrade. Admittedly you have had problems over the year, what USB peripherals where you trying to use?

    It was Quake 4, the last day to get the upgrade price is today (6th June) so it will be released soon.


    It does take longer to boot, about 30 seconds more than a normal VM with my configuration. iMac 20" core 2 duo. There is a bit of a system hang when doing this however apart from this it is the same speed as a virtual machine. I only run form Bootcamp now, deleted my VMs as the extra disk space it took up was unnecessary for my usage.
     
  7. maestrokev thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #7
    30sec extra! :eek: Thanks for the info.

    Have you had any problems with Parallels corrupting your BC partition and having to reinstall Windows and Parallels?
     
  8. xUKHCx Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #8
    I just booted up my BC partition to see actually how long it takes, from pressing play and entering password (something extra you have to do when booting from BC) it took a total of 65 seconds to get to desktop. That was with lots of other programs opened at the same time, Powerpoint, iTunes, Safari, Vienna, TextEdit, Word and Excel. So this probably slowed it down somewhat.

    I myself have never destroyed my BC partition by the use of parallels.

    Any more questions?

    I do have a backup of my BC partition using Winclone so if anything goes wrong i can quickly, (i have done this in about 30 mintues) have boot camp up and working again. But with Winclone there is always the slight risk of actually destroying the BC partition when making the backup.
     
  9. maestrokev thread starter macrumors 6502a

    maestrokev

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Thanks for all the great info! So much change going on it's hard to keep up. Now Parallels 3 is out along with VMWare beta4 and BC 1.3 update, hard to decide which will work best. I think I'll go with the BC WinXP install first and then read more on which new version of Parallels vs VMWare is better.
     
  10. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #10
    Can I ask a question? What does one gain by running Bootcamp in Parallels? Don't you still have to reboot everytime you want to go in/out of Windows? If so, what is the point?
    I have windows on Bootcamp and just loaded Parallels and Windows again. Is that wrong?
     
  11. arkitect macrumors 601

    arkitect

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Location:
    Bath, United Kingdom
    #11
    You use the Boot Camp partition with its version of Windows Xp or Vista installed. So when you set up Parallels there is no need to re-install another Windows setup… Saves you having to re-authorise with MS.

    You don't install Boot Camp through Parallels.
     
  12. meagain macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    #12
    Thanks - I wouldn't have to reboot to get to windows though - right?
    My big problem is the windows side wants to Checkdsc and it times out. My Mac is alway running at a snails pace. Dang.

    I wonder if VMware is less of a hog?
     

Share This Page