Does bootcamp work on the beta?

Discussion in 'macOS High Sierra (10.13)' started by Gary500, Aug 7, 2017.

  1. Gary500 macrumors regular

    Gary500

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    #1
    I tried it, but it got stuck on partitioning. Anyone have any clue if it works?
     
  2. Crash0veride macrumors regular

    Crash0veride

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #2
    I can't attest to the partition assistant, as I did it before I moved to the public beta, but in general bootcamp works fine. If you use the terminal app and the command "diskutil list" and screenshot the output, it would give a better sense of your partition/hard drive layout. I've had to give it multiple tries before in general though, and partitioning as a whole seems to be kind of flaky in HSierra in my experience.
     
  3. AppleMythos macrumors newbie

    AppleMythos

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #3
    I do not think bootcamp presently works on High Sierra. Someone here may be able to help you with a source on that.

    I personally was able to work around this by installing Windows 10 on an external SSD before upgrading to High Sierra. Now I am able to dualboot Windows 10 and High Sierra, and everything works as they should.
     
  4. S8ER01Z macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #4
    Bootcamp seemed to work great when setup BEFORE High Sierra. The day after I upgraded to beta 5 my windows 10 installed an update... rebooted, failed, attempted to restore previous and trashed my bootcamp. Now I am unable to setup a new bootcamp or fix the existing one (BootCamp assistant has partitioning errors and will not complete.). :/ I would avoid Bootcamp setup completely in the current High Sierra. If you have an existing you should be ok though.
     
  5. samns044 macrumors newbie

    samns044

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2017
    #5
    Just came to say that my bootcamp partition stoped working after installing high sierra so if you use bootcamp i would stick to sierra.
     
  6. AppleMythos macrumors newbie

    AppleMythos

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2017
    Location:
    San Francisco
    #6
    I would just like to add that bootcamp still does not seem to be working when using the internal harddrive/ssd, but it works perfectly fine with my external ssd. If this set up is necessary, you should probably first do so under Sierra, then once Windows is up and running, upgrade to High Sierra.
     
  7. MacFan497 macrumors newbie

    MacFan497

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2013
    Location:
    IL
    #7
    If partitioned and installed before High Sierra, then yes Windows works just fine
    Though I've heard that the Bootcamp Installer in High Sierra is buggy with partitioning, especially with a APFS hard drive
     
  8. mszilard macrumors member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2012
    #8
    i had to do a complete reformat and internet recovery after windows install messed up my partitioning. so i would wait with bootcamp and high sierra
     
  9. Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #9
    Bootcamp isn't partitioning correctly and is giving me the GPT error and "Partition can't be created" when booted into the Windows install media. Been at it all day, following fix articles and procedures, but still no go. Unfortunately I had a severe Fusion drive issue that resulted from the first Public Beta, and needed to wipe the entire drive so I lost my Bootcamp partition from before. Contemplating if I should roll back to Sierra, do the bootcamp partitioning, and then upgrade to High Sierra and data restore after that.
     
  10. ryxn macrumors regular

    ryxn

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2017
    #10
    I'm on latest beta, non-APFS, and I successfully used the Bootcamp Assistant to install a Windows 10 partition with no issues.
     
  11. S8ER01Z macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #11
    Beta 7 and still unable to use bootcamp.
    “Your disk could not be partitioned”
     
  12. Icaras, Aug 21, 2017
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2017

    Icaras macrumors 603

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #12
    Seriously? I just did a fresh install of Sierra, then upgraded to High Sierra, and after partitioning and rebooting, either when I boot into the Windows startup disk, I’ll always get a GPT error, or if I boot into the EFI boot, I’ll always get an error saying a “partition can’t be created or is lost”. Both errors are given when I try to click “next” after formatting the Windows partitions. It was happening to me all day yesterday.

    Edit: So I’m happy to report that PB6 has fixed my bootcamp issues! No GPT or partition errors this time and Windows 10 installed like a charm! Very happy now. :D

    --- Post Merged, Aug 21, 2017 ---
    And you’re getting this error in a bootcamp assistant in macOS?
     
  13. S8ER01Z macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    #13
    Correct. Will be trying again after the update today. Fingers crossed.
     
  14. Crash0veride macrumors regular

    Crash0veride

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Location:
    Cincinnati
    #14
    I installed a copy on the PBeta that came out before today. I've always had issues installing windows on any computer, any time, Mac or not, so that few issues I had didn't seem out of the ordinary to me. I've mostly had issues with removing bootcamp in HSierra. I've rebuilt my bootcamp a coulee of times since HSierra (I was trying some weird methods to get it onto an external, but VM is the best way to go).
     
  15. DeltaMac macrumors 604

    DeltaMac

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2003
    Location:
    Delaware
    #15
    Erased my Sierra boot drive completely, then installed HSierra beta (6, I think, anyway about 10 days ago), choosing APFS specifically for the format, then the macOS beta install.
    Restored apps and files from backup.
    Ran Boot Camp then, and no problems at all installing Win10. As always, had to format the partition that was created by Boot Camp before the Win10 installer would use it --- but that's no different than what I have seen since using Win10.
    So, in my experience anyway, a new Boot Camp install on a High Sierra beta system worked first time with no problems here.
     
  16. gbouck macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2017
    #16
    I was experiencing the same problem, when I looked deeper into it, I also discovered I couldn't use any method to re-partition my hard drive manually either. After doing some digging, it appeared to be related to local time machine snapshots. Check this link out and follow the instructions. It worked for me!

    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/46424915/apfs-container-resize-error-code-is-49153
     

Share This Page