Does Doom 4 run on integrated graphics?

Discussion in 'Mac and PC Games' started by bchreng, Apr 15, 2016.

  1. bchreng macrumors 6502a

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #1
    Does anyone know how well Doom 4 runs on a system with integrated graphics, if at all? The beta is open this weekend and it will take a while for me to load it to test for myself.

    Whether there are any responses or not, I'll try and update this thread with my own experience once I get to try it out.
     
  2. nightmars macrumors member

    nightmars

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2010
    Location:
    Germany
    #2
    Please do share! And thank you for using the time for downloading and trying.
     
  3. saturnotaku macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    #4
    Depends on which iGPU you're talking about. It should run OK on an Iris or Iris Pro, but very poorly if at all on something like the HD 4000.
     
  4. bchreng thread starter macrumors 6502a

    bchreng

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    #5
    Sorry guys, I didn't have any time this weekend to try it out :oops::(
     
  5. e93to macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
  6. bungiefan89 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2011
    #7
    Or what about a slightly older mac? I'm rocking a 2011 27" iMac with an AMD Radeon HD 6970 2GB, but the minimum specs ask for an AMD Radeon HD 7870 2GB or better. Does this mean my chances of enjoying this game are ... er ... DOOMed?
     
  7. CrankItUp, May 20, 2016
    Last edited: May 20, 2016

    CrankItUp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #8
    rImac i7/m295x/32 here: It runs quite smooth in 1080p (ultra high quality) and with TSAA 8x enabled (ingame option) you won`t see the low resolution on the 5k display...

    With 1440p or higher juddering starts, so from my side no recommendation for everything higher than 1080p with this rig.

    Btt:

    I also have an MBPr mid 2015 with just the integrated iris pro 5200 - but i wasn`t able to start it, although i downloaded the newest intel (beta) drivers 15.40.23.4444.
     
  8. paul_ryp macrumors newbie

    paul_ryp

    Joined:
    May 11, 2016
    Location:
    London
    #9
    NO...But it does run incredibly well on the PS4 ;)
     
  9. e93to macrumors 6502a

    e93to

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2015
    Location:
    Toronto
    #10
    Then I guess it's time to order 27" Retina iMac!
     
  10. CrankItUp macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Location:
    Germany
    #11
    +1

    and...

    if the Vulkan API patch comes in a few weeks, 1440p in ultra quality is not an issue anymore - go for it ;)
     

Share This Page