Does Elements 6 have any RAW support?

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by bking1000, Sep 19, 2008.

  1. bking1000 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #1
    Can I develop and process RAW shots in Elements 6? I want to start playing a bit with RAW, but am still principally iPhoto based. Not sure I'm ready to move to Ap or Lightroom just yet.

    So, I was wondering if PSE6 can be used in RAW/TIFF developing with any success.

    If not, does anyone have a good recommendation for converting CHDK-based RAW files to Tiff. Right now I use RAW Photo Processor, but it's a bit slow. Any other recommendations that are inexpensive/free?
     
  2. pit29 macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #2
  3. GoCubsGo macrumors Nehalem

    GoCubsGo

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    #3
    That doesn't even come close to answering his question.


    According to Adobe's site Elements 6.0 can support RAW by way of using Adobe's Camera RAW plugin.
     
  4. Westside guy macrumors 601

    Westside guy

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2003
    Location:
    The soggy side of the Pacific NW
    #4
    Heck, Elements 4 can handle RAW files, thanks to Adobe Camera Raw.

    (I've got a computer with Elements 4 on it; that's how I know)
     
  5. pit29 macrumors 6502a

    pit29

    Joined:
    May 23, 2006
    Location:
    The Golden State
    #5

    :confused:
     
  6. bking1000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #6
    Thanks everyone for your replies.

    One open question -- does anyone know of a solution to handle CHDK-based RAW output from an a650?
     
  7. ChrisA macrumors G4

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2006
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, California
    #7
    Look at the bottom of this page under "suported cameras", yours (with CHDK) is there
    http://cybercom.net/~dcoffin/dcraw/

    Then look at the same page under "Other raw decoders". Any of those that use dcraw will also support your camera. But of course you could use dcraw yourself directly. It is likely the best raw decoders anyways
     
  8. bking1000 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2007
    #8
    Thanks for the link. I guess I'm looking for a bit more of a short cut than a command line RAW decoder or a long list of RAW decoders that may or may not be free and may or may not be OSX.

    Let me rephrase -- any mac users out there with an a650 (or perhaps other a series) using a tool they would like to recommend to convert their crw to tiff?
     

Share This Page