iPad Does Erase All Content and Settings get rid of jailbreak?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by AceCoolie, Mar 9, 2012.

  1. AceCoolie macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #1
    I'd like to advertise my jailbroken iPad2 on craigslist. I want to reset it before I sell it but will doing so remove the jailbreak? I will avoid upgrading to 5.1 but I just wanted to make sure before I did it.
     
  2. bigjnyc macrumors 603

    bigjnyc

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    #2
    Oh boy the last time I did that on a jailbroken device I almost bricked it. Took me a few days of messing around with it to restore it :( .... Granted this was with an iPhone 3GS but still..... I would save your shsh and do a restore then re-jailbreak again. Stay away from the erase contents button while jailbroken.
     
  3. AceCoolie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
  4. Mustangjac macrumors member

    Mustangjac

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Location:
    Florida
    #4
    Do a restore in iTunes. You'll do fine. Just download the 5.01 IPSW (if you don't already have it) and do a shift+restore to that one, rather than let iTunes upgrade you to 5.1.

    Apple is still signing 5.01, so it'll install fine.
     
  5. bwrairen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
  6. tayloner182 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #6
    Wish I would've seen this thread before I did what I just did, or asked some questions like TS did at least. Anyway, here's my situation:

    I also want to sell my iPad 2. My iPad 2 was not jailbroken, so I went ahead and did the JB with Absinthe, thinking it would completely wipe my iPad and it would be factory fresh with the JB in place upon completion. When it rebooted, I noticed the JB took effect but all my old settings, etc., were still there. So I then proceeded to Erase All Content and Settings. My iPad rebooted to factory settings, but with the Cydia icon still there. Except, when I click on the Cydia app, it opens for a split second and closes. I also can't JB it again because Absinthe says it already is jailbroken.

    HELP. What do I do? I want to restore this to factory 5.0.1 settings, WITH a jailbreak, for sale. Can I get there from where I am currently? Got ahead of myself, screwed up...
     
  7. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #7
    Normally you restore for this, but as apple is no longer signing 5.01 that is not an option with the A5 iPad2

    you can try this:

    With ssh into your device or use iFunbox to access files system
    go to Applications and delete Cydia folder

    restart device
    than download Cydia 1.1.4 deb from below site and install

    http://www.spiritjb.org/2012/01/download-cydia-1.1.4-without-re-jailbreak.html

    that at least should get Cydia back

    from there you can deinstall packages in Cydia
     
  8. Mrg02d macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    #8
    I used iFile to delete the cydia folder and then tried to reinstall cydia via your link. iFile wont install it. Gives me the following error:

    dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of cydia:
    cydia depends on cydia-Iproj; however:
    Package cydia -Iproj is not installed.
    dpkg: error processing cydia (--install):
    dependency problems- leaving unconfigured
    Errors were encountered while processing:
    cydia
    Finished with result code: 256

    iFile wont install ANY apps period...
     
  9. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #9
    THan there is a different problem in your setup, my iFile installs files fine.

    What you can try is go into system files to
    var/root/media

    create folder Cydia
    in Cydia folder create folder AutoInstall (mind he capitals)

    put cydia.deb in the AutoInstall folder and reboot iPhone

    thats an alternative way of installing debs
     
  10. tayloner182, Mar 11, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2012

    tayloner182 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #10
    So I used iFunBox to delete the Cydia folder from Applications. But now I can't figure out how to reinstall Cydia 1.1.4. Don't you have to install .DEB files using iFile from Cydia? But I am trying to install Cydia, therefore can't go download iFile to do it. What do I do? The AutoInstall technique you described above?

    EDIT: On the AutoInstall technique, when I go to //var/root, there is no Media folder, only Library.
     
  11. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
  12. tayloner182, Mar 11, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2012

    tayloner182 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #12
    Ok. I created the Media folder, I created the Cydia folder, and I created the AutoInstall folder, all inside the previous. I placed 'cydia_1.1.4_iphoneos-arm.deb' (does this need to be an iPad 2 specific version of this file?) in this folder, and closed iFunBox. I disconnected my iPad from USB, restarted it, and when it rebooted, the Cydia app was no where to be found. When I reconnected my iPad via USB, and guided to the AutoInstall folder, 'cydia_1.1.4_iphoneos-arm.deb' was no longer in there. Any ideas on how to troubleshoot this?

    EDIT: Also, when I did this, a couple of my icons went blank. Apps still function, but the icon is like a blank white. Not sure if that matters.
     
  13. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #13
    if its not there it means it was installed, it disappears after install, blank icons can be fixed by respiring or reboot
     
  14. tayloner182 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #14
    Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 5_0_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/534.46 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/5.1 Mobile/9A405 Safari/7534.48.3)

    I've rebooted by holding down the power and home buttons, still no Cydia icon. Any other reason an icon might be missing? Or is there a way to confirm it installed correctly through iFunBox/AutoInstall?
     
  15. TriJetHero macrumors 601

    TriJetHero

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2010
    Location:
    World
    #15
    if you deleted is before you can check with iFunbox in /Applications and see if the cydia folder is there
     
  16. tayloner182 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #16
    Checked Applications, Cydia not in there. Tried a couple more times to place the .DEB file in the AutoInstall folder and restart like before, still nothing. Weird, Absinthe telling me my iPad is already jailbroken, yet no trace of Cydia to be found.
     
  17. AceCoolie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #17
    So, I missed wiping and reinstalling 5.01 before Apple stopped signing it. I imagine there are other people in the same boat. Can we put together a walk thru for the best way to prep your iPad for sail while still retaining the jailbreak? Thanks!

    PS, what would happen if I didn't wipe the device? The new buyer wouldn't know my itunes ID and I could delete the email accounts and apps manually beforehand. I really don't have anything too important on it. Couldn't the new user just enter their Apple ID and use it as is?
     
  18. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #18
    Use iFaith and you will be able to restore your iPad to the ipsw currently on your iPad even Apple stops signing it.

    Here is the link for the instruction,

    http://www.funkyspacemonkey.com/ifaith-save-shsh-blobs-unsigned-ios-windows
     
  19. tayloner182 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    #19
  20. AceCoolie thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    #20
    Yeah, I followed the link and it's not for A5 devices.
     
  21. siilver1984 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    #21
    I have this problem with a pad one, do you have any tips

    Want to try and stick to 501 ha e shsh and all
    Would upgrading be the easiest fix
     
  22. Crystal-RX macrumors 68030

    Crystal-RX

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Location:
    Seattle, WA USA
    #22
    It works for iPad 1, iphone 4 but not iPad 2 or 4S.
     
  23. digital4 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    #23
    I have the same problem with 4S... jailbroken with absinthe...
    It is on 5.0.1 and after reset on the device Cydia does not work... The icon is still there but when you click on it does not start... I am able to ssh into device...

    I can not run absinthe again since it always gives me the message
    "error device already jailbroken detected untether"...


    I am stuck like this for the last 15 days and can not do anything...

    I am not able to restore to 5.0.1 since apple stopped signing it...

    Anybody succeeded in reinstalling absinthe or cydia in this situation...

    Thanks....
     
  24. gigaguy macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Location:
    USA
    #24
    Cydia has a new feature with substrate, if you get a glitch or freeze up, now holding the vol button and power, it will boot into safe mde. You have to have upgraded substrate with the new version. Just came out, I read about it at dev-team site. May be too late for some, but good to know for future probs.
     
  25. Ninjuhjuh macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 30, 2012
    #25
    help

    big how did you fix it i just did the erase button when jailbroken ipod 4g 5.0.1 firmware need help to fix

    ----------

    yeah so now im stuck how do you fix it?
     

Share This Page