iPhone Does evasi0n require Intel, or can I run it on a 10.5.8 PowerPC iMac?

Discussion in 'Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks' started by utahman130, Feb 4, 2013.

  1. clockworkorange macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #2
    the requirements (as listed on the evasi0n website):

    Code:
    * 5 minutes of your time!
    * A computer, running Windows (XP minimum), Mac OS X (10.5 minimum) or Linux (x86 / x86_64)
    * An iPhone, iPad or iPod running iOS 6.0 through 6.1 (you may check in Settings / General / About => Version)
    *A USB cable to connect the device to the computer
    
    Mac OS X 10.5 is Leopard, it is available for both Intel and PowerPC Macs. so to answer your question, No, you don't need an Intel Processor to run evasi0n.app
     
  2. utahman130 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    utahman130

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #3
    I don't know, because most apps I download, even if they say for 10.5, require an intel processor. I'm stuck at school, and want to know if I can jailbreak my 5 on my computer.
     
  3. clockworkorange macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    #4
    it's not really an "App", it's listed as a volume in OS X (like a flash drive), so it should work.


    HMM... Activity monitor lists the process as Intel, any powerpc people would like to chime in, my iMac took a nose dive and haven't gotten around to replacing the screen =(
     
  4. dontpannic macrumors 6502

    dontpannic

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Location:
    Orpington, Kent, UK
    #5
    ...and the volume contains? An app!

    I would assume it won't work on PowerPC.
     
  5. Xenomorph macrumors 65816

    Xenomorph

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Location:
    St. Louis
    #6
    Both evasi0n and the version of iTunes it needs (for libraries and such) are Intel-only.

    Run Windows XP in a virtual machine if you have a PowerPC Mac.
     
  6. utahman130 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    utahman130

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2012
    #7
    Is there any free software for that?
     
  7. Siggen macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Oslo, Norway
    #8
    I would think it does require an Intel CPU. The app is so small I can hardly believe they could fit both PPC and x86 binaries there

    ----------

    Yes, I dont know if it runs on PCC, VirtualBox is the bomb when it comes to free virtualization. Next in line is Parallels which is pricy (I bought it), or VMWare which is behind VirtualBox in next to all personal uses.

    I mention all in case one of them does not have PPC support.
     

Share This Page