Does everyone elses MBP freeze for a few seconds upon wake up?

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by deosaa7, Dec 25, 2011.

  1. deosaa7 macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    #1
    I am running a MBP 13" i5, 128 gb apple SSD, 8 gb OCZ RAM, lion with all updates

    i notice my computer when i open the lid, it will freeze for 1-2 seconds before I can move the cursor around. It is just a little annoying if anything because my dinky windows 7 based netbook is super speedy and doesnt have the same issue. I am wondering if anyone else can report similar experiences or if I am alone and if this might suggest some problems that I should get checked out?

    thanks!
     
  2. praetorx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
  3. BlakeBrattina macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    May 10, 2011
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    #3
    Mine does - Was kind of wondering the same the other day
     
  4. VMMan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #4
    After I updated from SL to Lion, I had 1-2 seconds of beach balling on every start and awakening. I installed a SSD and also did a fresh install of Lion. Now, I have no pause or beach balling. I agree that it makes the Mac experience a bit tainted.
     
  5. fingleburt macrumors member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
  6. xxcysxx macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2011
    #6
    my mac does this as well. i was curious about this so i went to the apple store and notice all the other 13 inch does it also. as well as the 11 inch airs and the 13 inch airs.

    the 15 and 17 inch doesn't do it. perhaps it has something to do with the hardware.

    i have 256 gb m4 crucial ssd and 8 gb upgraded ram and it still does it. i reinstalled the original mechanical hard drive with a fresh install of lion and it still does it.
     
  7. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #7
    My 2008 Macbook does this too since upgrading to Lion, I don't notice it on my 2009 MBP though. I attribute it to Lion's resume feature.

    B
     
  8. Heebeejeebies macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Location:
    New Jersey
  9. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #9
    It's normal. It takes a few seconds to fully wake up from sleep mode.
     
  10. aCondor macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Location:
    United States
    #10
    Yup, does it on mine also. Usually only a couple seconds, I figure it is to get HDD spinning and everything aligned correctly?
     
  11. dsciel macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    #11
    before installing the SSD, my early 13 inch doesnt have problem with snow leopard, and after installed m4, it has this problem. Not so sure if its lion's problem or SSD's
     
  12. GGJstudios macrumors Westmere

    GGJstudios

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    #12
    It's not a problem. It's a simple, brief, normal delay, which doesn't indicate the presence of any problem.
     
  13. ThomasBoss macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    #13
    Mine does, but it really doesn't bother me....it's only a few seconds (and my wifi takes like a minute to connect)
     
  14. thundersteele macrumors 68030

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Location:
    Switzerland
    #14
    mine doesn't. I deactivated the sleepimage, but I don't think it did freeze before.
     
  15. yusukeaoki macrumors 68030

    yusukeaoki

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Tokyo, Japan
    #15
    Same.
    Instead, my keyboard lights up first than 1~3 sec later, my screen goes on.
     
  16. VMMan macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    #16
    A minute seems like a lot of time for a WiFi connection..
     
  17. mbp17xxx macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
  18. Prodo123 macrumors 68020

    Prodo123

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    #18
    Not mine, I can pop my lid and fire up Photoshop in less than 2 seconds.
     
  19. miker2209 macrumors regular

    miker2209

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    #19
    I'm pretty sure it's Lion because i had both 2010 and 2011 with SL and it never showed untill i installed Lion, happens on both machine. And both i had the 128gb M4 Crucial SSD. It's not much of a problem more or less a nuisance.
     
  20. mgartner0622 macrumors 65816

    mgartner0622

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Location:
    Colorado, USA
    #20
    Late 2011 2.5GHz i7 15" - No
    Mid 2011 2.0GHz i7 15" - No
    Mid 2010 2.4GHz i5 15" - Yes
    Mid 2009 2.26GHz Core 2 Duo 13" - Yes

    I'm guessing Apple was able to resolve this on the newer models that come preloaded with Lion, based on the experiences of myself and other responses in this thread.
     

Share This Page