Does Finder have UI prefs? Or a Finder alternate?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by typeadam, Oct 8, 2010.

1. typeadam macrumors regular

Hey everyone, I'm new to Mac. Had one since January of this year and I love, love, love it!

My question: Does Finder have customization options that are hidden somewhere or obscure and hard to find OR is there an alternative to Finder?

I know I still have a lot to learn but I *thought* I figured out all the basics pretty well.
    What's plaguing me is Finder.
    I really have no right to complain since I've been an Apple user for a very short time but of all the things Apple did tremendously right, Finder is an epic fail compared to Windows Explorer.
    Here's some things I'm looking for which I hope I either overlooked in Finder's preferences or an add-on exists somewhere or an alternative "Finder." BTW, most of the "features" below I've grown very accustomed to since the days of Windows95 all the way to Windows7, so I'm sort of stuck in my ways... :D
    1. A 2-pane directory tree view - folder tree on the left, folder content on the right.
    2. An easier/quicker way of sorting/arranging folder content with more options (e.g. folder w/ images which you can arrange by dimension, arrange by any of the EXIF data, date taken, etc., or a music folder arranged by title, author, year, genre, or any other id3 data, etc... [yes, I use iTunes, this is just an example since sometimes I need actual access to my files])
    3. The ability to have different views in different folders (my image folders I always have a thumbnail view, but I don't need that in a folder w/ text files, a list view will be fine - but Finder seems to have a universal setting, not per folder)
    4. The ability to have different folder content arranged in different ways (my work folder arranged by date modified, documents folder alphabetically)
    4. Command+Tab through each individual open Finder window, not just the 1 Finder