Does ios 4.0.1 address 3G lag?

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by QWK SVT, Jul 15, 2010.

  1. QWK SVT macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #1
    I have an iPhone 3G, and have regretted loading ios 4 since the day it came out... The lag is, at times, unbearable. Despite rebooting at least once per day, I often am able to type full sentences before the screen catches up, and have situations where the screen “freezes” for 15+ seconds. I know I’m not the only one experiencing this, and since I won’t be in a position to download the new o/s for a couple of days anyway, maybe someone can confirm if it’s worth it… Does ios 4.0.1 address this, at all?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. gravytrain84 macrumors 6502a

    gravytrain84

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Location:
    LA
    #2
    The firmware update adresses the signal bars only. 3G lag is horrible, I agree. I played around with my co-workers and was very very happy that I had upgraded.
     
  3. QWK SVT thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    #3
    That really sucks... For all intents and purposes, the ios4 "upgrade" has rendered my unusable :mad:
     
  4. MozMan68 macrumors 68000

    MozMan68

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Location:
    Right here...
    #4
    OMFG...update "fixes" BARS ONLY like it said on the screen when you updated.

    3G lag is caused by an old phone and old processor that can't handle the new software....all 3G's will do this and should have never been included as part of the "upgrade" to OS4....yes...it's Apple's fault and they should offer a way to go back down for 3G users.

    I just gave mine to my son to use as an iTouch....:(
     
  5. G-Force macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2006
    #5
    With a bit of effort you can downgrade it easily to 3.1.3, no need to give it away... I did it yesterday and my 3G feels like new again. ;)

    http://tinyurl.com/37v56z6
     
  6. Kahnyl macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    #6
    Downgrade!

    From what I've seen it's not worth using on a 3G.
     

Share This Page