Does ipad 3G works in India? Help!! SOS!!

Discussion in 'iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by bachelor, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. bachelor macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #1
    I'm planning to buy a new iPad 3G from US but I'm very much confused that will it work fine with Indian 3G networks like MTNL and BSNL? I don't have technical information about it. Is there anyone who is using iPad 3G in India? Please clear the questions...

    and Please tell me.. Do we have to Jailbreak or it works fine?

    Thanks
     
  2. lapocompris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #2
    Well, 3G is 3G, any 3G device will work on a 3G network as far as I know. Have you seen any iPhone in India?
    You may have to cut the sim card if your provider doesn't offer the micro format.
     
  3. AvMac macrumors member

    AvMac

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #3

    People in India have got the 3G iPad from the US.

    From what I know, there is no need to jailbreak an iPad. It works perfectly with BSNL/MTNL 3G or a regular GSM SIM with 2.5G/EDGE

    You may have to cut the SIM card though to a micro size. Google for it and you will find a lot of adapters/cutters available in the market.

    All the best :)
     
  4. bachelor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #4
    thanks so much buddy. One more thing, is it still working if we update iPad online??
    and if it works fine, why iPad jailbreak is available on internet?
     
  5. bachelor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #5
    Thanks maate :) :)

    It was helpful.. :)
     
  6. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #6
    Because jailbreak is useful for lots more things than just using idevices on other networks.

    But yes, if you have a sim card in the right size, a firmware update shouldn't affect it.
     
  7. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Different countries and even networks within countries use different frequencies.
     
  8. lapocompris macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2009
    #8
    Yes but the smart guys at Apple knew it, therefore, they designed the iPad with all the frequencies:
    UMTS/HSDPA (850, 1900, 2100 MHz)
    GSM/EDGE (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
     
  9. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #9
    It's missing UMTS 900 (Vodafone NZ) and 1700 (T-Mobile US).
     
  10. AvMac macrumors member

    AvMac

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2006
    Location:
    Singapore
    #10
    As Night Spring has mentioned, jail break allows you to install 3rd party iPad applications on your device that are not approved by Apple.

    Since the iPad is not locked to any carrier, online updates will not cause any issues to the device.
     
  11. bachelor thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    #11
    more queries

    Ohh.. good..thanks for the useful reply!! It was really helpful.

    I've other queries too. If we jailbreak iPad can we update the firmware over internet after jailbreaking? Does it void the warranty? If we can't update after jail breaking then how to revert it to normal as it was earlier? Please Clear me..I want to be sure before purchasing..

    Is there anyone from India whoz iPad is working fine.

    Thanks so much :)
     
  12. Night Spring macrumors G5

    Night Spring

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    #12
    You should check out the iPad hacks and iPhone hacks subforums. There are many threads there answering your questions. I found this article particularly helpful when I was first getting into jailbreaking: http://www.hackthatphone.com/4x/read_me_first.html. Another site you might find helpful is iclarifed.com. They have tutorials on how to jailbreak, and how to restore to normal if something goes wrong, or you simply decide jailbreak isn't for you and want to go back to stock OS.

    But again, jailbreaking isn't relevant to your using an iPad in India. The iPad either works with SIMS from cell service providers in India, or it won't. If it doesn't, then that is because of hardware limitations, and jailbreak doesn't change your hardware. iPhones are different because they are often sold "locked" to a particular cell service company. These locks are software based, so people jailbreak, then apply unlocking software to use their iPhones with other cell service companies.
     
  13. nightfly13 macrumors 6502a

    nightfly13

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Location:
    Ranchi, India
    #13

Share This Page