Does iPhone Unlock Allow You to Avoid Smartphone Data Plan?

Discussion in 'iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting' started by HeyoSpeaker, May 22, 2012.

1. HeyoSpeaker macrumors newbie

I recently visited our local AT&T store with my mom to look at new phones, since our contracts have recently ended. I have been using a 3GS for the last 2 years and she has been using a standard flip phone. I plan to get a new iPhone with a contract soon, even if it's just another 3GS, since they are selling it for $1 with a contract.

My mom really needs a new phone; she texts a lot, but her keypad has been malfunctioning. The AT&T representative we spoke with brought up the idea that I could get a new iPhone for myself and give my mom my old one; thus, she could see whether she likes using a smartphone without being bound by a contract (but would still have to pay the $20-$30 per month for the smartphone data plan as long as she used it).

She decided she really can't afford that extra $20-$30 a month and just mainly wants to call and text (though she has mentioned being interested in certain apps in the past), and there was seemingly no way around that expensive data plan if she wanted a smartphone. We still haven't gotten any new phones or committed to renewed contracts.

Just now I read that AT&T recently began unlocking phones for out-of-contract customers without the need for any hacking software, which I was unaware of while I was at the AT&T store. The articles all mention that an unlocked phone can be used with any carrier. But I have what is perhaps an unusual question...